Love your enemies!

06/01/13

Thought:

How difficult it is to love your enemies. Lets be honest, it is often hard enough to love our friends and and family! So how can we be expected to love our enemies? Well God loves our enemies. He loves them as much as he loves us. There was a time in my life – most of my life actually, when God was irrelevant to me. But I was always relevant to God. I was always loved by God regardless. We are being asked by Jesus to love everyone, regardless of their sin or anger or aggression. We are to demonstrate the power of God’s love despite their rejection of it. When people turn on us with hate and seek revenge for their pain, we are to give them more than they are trying to take. We are to overwhelm them with unexpected love. Love really can conquer evil. It’s all just a question of believing in it.

Word:

Matthew 5:38-48 NLT

“You have heard the law that says the punishment must match the injury: ‘An eye for an eye, and a tooth for a tooth.’ But I say, do not resist an evil person! If someone slaps you on the right cheek, offer the other cheek also. If you are sued in court and your shirt is taken from you, give your coat, too. If a soldier demands that you carry his gear for a mile, carry it two miles. Give to those who ask, and don’t turn away from those who want to borrow. “You have heard the law that says, ‘Love your neighbour’ and hate your enemy. But I say, love your enemies! Pray for those who persecute you! In that way, you will be acting as true children of your Father in heaven. For he gives his sunlight to both the evil and the good, and he sends rain on the just and the unjust alike. If you love only those who love you, what reward is there for that? Even corrupt tax collectors do that much. If you are kind only to your friends, how are you different from anyone else? Even pagans do that. But you are to be perfect, even as your Father in heaven is perfect.

Goal:

My goal is first to start at home and get my own house in order! I want to improve the love I show my family and friends…. Then perhaps I will be in a better position to give more to those who are causing me and those I love, hurt, sorrow or pain.

Heavenly Father, help me to to give more than anyone expects. Help me to astonish both my friends and my enemies with the power of your love,
In the name of Jesus who taught me this, Amen.

Today’s readings:

Genesis 13:5-15:21, Matthew 5:27-48, Psalms 6:1-10, Proverbs 1:29-33

Leave a Reply

