Keep on asking and you will receive what you ask for.(Matthew 7:7)

Thought:

Sometimes we can fall out of the habit of prayer… Actually I’m not really sure if I’ve ever been in the habit of prayer! (I mean regular daily prayer with a list of things and people to pray for.) But that doesn’t mean I never pray. I find that my most common request is that I will know what to do in any given situation. I can never have enough knowledge of how things are going to turn out! The point is, whatever it is you need or feel you are lacking you can ask God for it in faith, and it will be given to you. The trick is to ask in the first place. Praying is asking God to help you, to be with you, and thanking him for what he has already given you. As we keep on praying we feel God with us more and more and as we feel his presence in our lives it gives us hope while we wait for the things we ask for to arrive.

Word:

Matthew 7:7-11 NLT

“Keep on asking, and you will receive what you ask for. Keep on seeking, and you will find. Keep on knocking, and the door will be opened to you. For everyone who asks, receives. Everyone who seeks, finds. And to everyone who knocks, the door will be opened.
“You parents—if your children ask for a loaf of bread, do you give them a stone instead? Or if they ask for a fish, do you give them a snake? Of course not! So if you sinful people know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your heavenly Father give good gifts to those who ask him.

Proverbs 2:6-11 NLT

For the Lord grants wisdom! From his mouth come knowledge and understanding. He grants a treasure of common sense to the honest. He is a shield to those who walk with integrity. He guards the paths of the just and protects those who are faithful to him. Then you will understand what is right, just, and fair, and you will find the right way to go. For wisdom will enter your heart, and knowledge will fill you with joy. Wise choices will watch over you. Understanding will keep you safe.

Goal:

I have managed to establish a regular habit of reading my bible each morning. If anyone had told me two years ago that I would do this every morning I would have laughed at them. My goal now is to establish a regular prayer habit too. There have been many wonderful changes in my life since I came to find my faith – many of my prayers have been answered or are being answered. I would like to keep on asking in the hope that I will keep on receiving.

Today’s readings:

Genesis 18:16-19:38, Matthew 6:25-7:14, Psalm 8:1-9, Proverbs 2:6-15

Leave a Reply

