Trust in the Lord with all your heart

Thought:

Trust in the Lord with all your heart; Then you will have healing for your body and strength for your bones.

Today’s passage from Proverbs, to my mind, seems to sum up the message contained in both New and Old Testament passages.
Abraham’s servant is sent back to his relatives to find a wife for Isaac. The servant prays that God will guide him and let him know what to do. Then when he has been successful he tells the whole family and gives the glory to God.
The message from the psalmist and Jesus in the today’s other two passages is simply: have faith, be healed/saved, praise God!

Word:

Matthew 8:1-4 NLT

Large crowds followed Jesus as he came down the mountainside. Suddenly, a man with leprosy approached him and knelt before him. “Lord,” the man said, “if you are willing, you can heal me and make me clean.” Jesus reached out and touched him. “I am willing,” he said. “Be healed!” And instantly the leprosy disappeared. Then Jesus said to him, “Don’t tell anyone about this. Instead, go to the priest and let him examine you. Take along the offering required in the law of Moses for those who have been healed of leprosy. This will be a public testimony that you have been cleansed.”

Psalms 9:13, 14 NLT

Lord, have mercy on me.

See how my enemies torment me.
Snatch me back from the jaws of death.
Save me so I can praise you publicly at Jerusalem’s gates,
so I can rejoice that you have rescued me.

Proverbs 3:5-8 NLT

Trust in the Lord with all your heart; do not depend on your own understanding. Seek his will in all you do, and he will show you which path to take. Don’t be impressed with your own wisdom. Instead, fear the Lord and turn away from evil. Then you will have healing for your body and strength for your bones.

Goal:

Jesus healed a man from leprosy, the Psalmist wanted to be rescued from death at the hands of his enemies, Abraham’s servant wanted to be successful and do a good job for his master… Not everyone can claim to have been saved from death by God or miraculously healed. Many of us would struggle to find things to praise God about publicly… But my goal is to notice more of the things in my life that God has done for me. Then perhaps, as I see them mounting up, I might feel like being more public with my praise.

Today’s readings:

Genesis 23:1-24:51,Matthew 8:1-17, Psalms 9:13-20, Proverbs 3:1-8

Leave a Reply

