The harvest is great, but the workers are few. (Matthew 9:37)

Thought:

Jacob makes a vow that if God actually does what he say he will, (feed him, clothe him and keep him safe from harm) then he will worship him and present him with a tenth of all he gives him. This tenth, this ‘tithe’ has been thought of very often as a proportion of your income. A tenth of your money given to the church. But I think it is much more than that. Jacob vows a tenth of EVERYTHING God gives him. That’s food, clothes, protection, love, compassion, understanding, wisdom etc, etc…

Jesus, teaches us to give more. He gave the multitudes his compassion, he healed them and taught them. He loved them and fed them. And he appealed to his disciples to pray for more ‘workers’ to help with the ‘harvest’.

Word:

Genesis 28:20-22 NLT

Then Jacob made this vow: “If God will indeed be with me and protect me on this journey, and if he will provide me with food and clothing, and if I return safely to my father’s home, then the Lord will certainly be my God. And this memorial pillar I have set up will become a place for worshiping God, and I will present to God a tenth of everything he gives me.”

Matthew 9:35-38 NLT

Jesus traveled through all the towns and villages of that area, teaching in the synagogues and announcing the Good News about the Kingdom. And he healed every kind of disease and illness. When he saw the crowds, he had compassion on them because they were confused and helpless, like sheep without a shepherd. He said to his disciples, “The harvest is great, but the workers are few. So pray to the Lord who is in charge of the harvest; ask him to send more workers into his fields.”

Proverbs 3:9, 10 NLT

Honour the Lord with your wealth and with the best part of everything you produce. Then he will fill your barns with grain, and your vats will overflow with good wine.

Goal:

I want to become one of the workers. I want to join Jesus’ disciples by giving more of everything God has given me, the best part of what he has given me. There is so much need all around us that money alone can do nothing about. I want to tithe with love, understanding, compassion and wisdom…. I want to join in and help with the great harvest that is coming

Today’s readings:

Genesis 28:1-29:35, Matthew 9:18-38, Psalms 11:1-7, Proverbs 3:9-12

Leave a Reply

