Pharaoh valued Joseph and his God above all else.

Thought:

What ever was done to Joseph – right or wrong, he gave the glory to God and God gave him success. Narrowly escaping murder he is sold as a slave. As a slave he prospers in his master’s house until falsely accused of rape. Then he spends years in prison, where again he prospers. Finally, he is elevated from prisoner to governor of the whole of Egypt with power over all except the Pharaoh himself. Pharaoh saw the great value of God’s favour for Joseph and so he placed him in the highest possible office in his government.

Jesus teaches of the value of the the kingdom as being worth everything a man owns….

Word:

Genesis 41:37-41 NLT

Joseph’s suggestions were well received by Pharaoh and his officials. So Pharaoh asked his officials, “Can we find anyone else like this man so obviously filled with the spirit of God?” Then Pharaoh said to Joseph, “Since God has revealed the meaning of the dreams to you, clearly no one else is as intelligent or wise as you are. You will be in charge of my court, and all my people will take orders from you. Only I, sitting on my throne, will have a rank higher than yours.” Pharaoh said to Joseph, “I hereby put you in charge of the entire land of Egypt.”

Matthew 13:44-46 NLT

“The Kingdom of Heaven is like a treasure that a man discovered hidden in a field. In his excitement, he hid it again and sold everything he owned to get enough money to buy the field. “Again, the Kingdom of Heaven is like a merchant on the lookout for choice pearls. When he discovered a pearl of great value, he sold everything he owned and bought it!

Goal:

Pharaoh clearly valued Joseph as a man of God in whom God was obviously working above all others in his kingdom. He trusted him completely and gave him all authority. Pharaoh valued Joseph so highly because he brought God in to his government. I want God in my government! I want God to run my affairs and have all the power in my life. I want to put God at the heart of my affairs and make my decisions based in the advice He gives me. I want to sell off everything else in my life if it means I can afford God.

Today’s readings:

Genesis 41:17-42:17, Matthew 13:24-46, Psalms 18:1-15, Proverbs 4:1-6

Leave a Reply

