Peter believed in Jesus, but the reality of the storm was too much for his faith.

Thought:

When Jesus says “you have so little faith” he is not saying Peter doesn’t believe in him at all, he is saying that in the moment when all he has is his faith to hold onto, he stops trusting and he sinks. And when he sinks, Peter cries out for Jesus again and Jesus immediately saves him. Jesus knows that committed Christians believe him. And he knows that many others want to believe him. But what he really wants is for us to trust him-always- and trusting him, he wants us to love him and obey him.

Word:

Matthew 14:24-31 NLT

Meanwhile, the disciples were in trouble far away from land, for a strong wind had risen, and they were fighting heavy waves. About three o’clock in the morning Jesus came toward them, walking on the water. When the disciples saw him walking on the water, they were terrified. In their fear, they cried out, “It’s a ghost!” But Jesus spoke to them at once. “Don’t be afraid,” he said. “Take courage. I am here! ” Then Peter called to him, “Lord, if it’s really you, tell me to come to you, walking on the water.” “Yes, come,” Jesus said. So Peter went over the side of the boat and walked on the water toward Jesus. But when he saw the strong wind and the waves, he was terrified and began to sink. “Save me, Lord!” he shouted. Jesus immediately reached out and grabbed him. “You have so little faith,” Jesus said. “Why did you doubt me?”

Proverbs 4:13 NLT

Take hold of my instructions; don’t let them go.
Guard them, for they are the key to life.

Psalms 18:48, 49 NLT

48 You hold me safe beyond the reach of my enemies;
you save me from violent opponents.
49 For this, O Lord, I will praise you among the nations;
I will sing praises to your name.

Goal:

The verse from proverbs sums this point up well. Jesus wants us to take hold of God’s instructions and not let them go. He wants us to believe and always trust him. And the psalmist also affirms his trust, his certainty, that The Lord will hold him safe, saving him from violent opponents.
Dear Lord and father, help me to trust you when I most need to. When there seems to be nothing else to hold on to, help me keep my eyes and my trust fixed firmly on you. In the name of Jesus I pray, Amen.

Today’s readings:

Genesis 44:1-45:28, Matthew 14:13-36, Psalms 18:37-50, Proverbs 4:11-13

Leave a Reply

