I will go with you down to Egypt, and I will bring you back again. (Genesis 46:4)

Thought:

Jacob is finally leaving Canaan to live with his son Joseph in Egypt. Jacob was a very old man at the end of his life – imagine the journey from Canaan (Israel) to Egypt in horse drawn wagons! One night on the way there, God speaks to Jacob and reaffirms his promise to make his family into a great nation. But more immediately, God says that he will go with Jacob. I think this is one of the most fabulous of God’s promises. Imagine how your own journey might be enhanced if you made it in the presence of God himself. Jacob must have been doubtful about such a huge change and upheaval at this late stage in his life. He must have been anxious about how things would be. But, in the sure knowledge that God would go with him, and with the promise that he would not die alone but with his most beloved son, he obeyed.

Word:

Genesis 46:1-4 NLT

So Jacob set out for Egypt with all his possessions. And when he came to Beersheba, he offered sacrifices to the God of his father, Isaac. During the night God spoke to him in a vision. “Jacob! Jacob!” he called. “Here I am,” Jacob replied. “I am God, the God of your father,” the voice said. “Do not be afraid to go down to Egypt, for there I will make your family into a great nation. I will go with you down to Egypt, and I will bring you back again. You will die in Egypt, but Joseph will be with you to close your eyes.”

Goal:

There are so many unknown terrors ahead of us in our lives. I think that fear of the unknown is what stops most people from achieving the success they crave and blocks the peace of mind we all strive for too. How differently we might live if we could know it would all turn out alright.
My goal is to put my trust in the promise that God has made to go with me. When I can not see the road ahead or where it might lead, my goal is to trust that God knows where we are going and that he will take me there safely.

Today’s readings:

Genesis 46:1-47:31, Matthew 15:1-28, Psalms 19:1-14, Proverbs 4:14-19

Leave a Reply

