But I am a worm and not a man. (Psalm 22:6)

Thought:

I am approaching a cross roads in my life. Along one road, I will set aside my career and begin a new chapter at home with my little daughter. I will provide practical home support for my wife as she resumes her career. Along another road, I have been increasingly convicted by what I read of God in the bible and by what I see happening in my life as a result. I find myself with decisions to make. But it seems it has never been easy to decide to stop what you are doing and follow God…

Word:

Exodus 3:1-10 NLT

One day Moses was tending the flock of his father-in-law, Jethro, the priest of Midian. He led the flock far into the wilderness and came to Sinai, the mountain of God. There the angel of the Lord appeared to him in a blazing fire from the middle of a bush. Moses stared in amazement. Though the bush was engulfed in flames, it didn’t burn up. “This is amazing,” Moses said to himself. “Why isn’t that bush burning up? I must go see it.” When the Lord saw Moses coming to take a closer look, God called to him from the middle of the bush, “Moses! Moses!” “Here I am!” Moses replied. “Do not come any closer,” the Lord warned. “Take off your sandals, for you are standing on holy ground. I am the God of your father —the God of Abraham, the God of Isaac, and the God of Jacob.” When Moses heard this, he covered his face because he was afraid to look at God. Then the Lord told him, “I have certainly seen the oppression of my people in Egypt. I have heard their cries of distress because of their harsh slave drivers. Yes, I am aware of their suffering. So I have come down to rescue them from the power of the Egyptians and lead them out of Egypt into their own fertile and spacious land. It is a land flowing with milk and honey—the land where the Canaanites, Hittites, Amorites, Perizzites, Hivites, and Jebusites now live. Look! The cry of the people of Israel has reached me, and I have seen how harshly the Egyptians abuse them. Now go, for I am sending you to Pharaoh. You must lead my people Israel out of Egypt.”

Psalms 22:4-8 NLT

4 Our ancestors trusted in you,
and you rescued them.
5 They cried out to you and were saved.
They trusted in you and were never disgraced.
6 But I am a worm and not a man.
I am scorned and despised by all!
7 Everyone who sees me mocks me.
They sneer and shake their heads, saying,
8 “Is this the one who relies on the Lord?
Then let the Lord save him!
If the Lord loves him so much,
let the Lord rescue him!”

Goal:

Moses was afraid of God and afraid of the Hebrews and the Egyptians! He didn’t know what to do or say. But God gave him precise instructions and said he would be with Moses. Moses didn’t feel he was any kind of man for this work, as the psalmist says, Moses felt like “a worm and not a man” before God. All men are! But God doesn’t expect us to be Him, he just expects us to do what he asks and instructs us. My Goal is simply to have enough faith to trust that God will be with me if he asks me to do anything for him.

Today’s readings:

Exodus 2:11-3:22, Matthew 17:10-27, Psalms 22:1-18, Proverbs 5:7-14

Leave a Reply

