You can pray for anything, and if you have faith, you will receive it. (Matthew 21:22)

Thought:

Why would Jesus curse a fig tree and cause it to die? Well, Jesus was hungry and the fig tree held the promise of fruit that might satisfy his hunger. But when he arrived at the tree, he found it had no fruit for him. It had given him the hope that he might find food and then not delivered. Jesus cursed the tree and immediately it withered and died. Jesus’s disciples were surprised and amazed at this, (which is odd if you remember the number of miraculous headings they must have seen him perform). Perhaps they were surprised that his miracles now appeared to be extended in to the realms of destructive power. The fig tree stands as a metaphor for all that offers us spiritual truth and nourishment but when approached, is found to be barren and fruitless. Many many people in our society today believe the church to be as barren and fruitless as this fig tree.

Word:

Matthew 21:18-22 NLT

In the morning, as Jesus was returning to Jerusalem, he was hungry, and he noticed a fig tree beside the road. He went over to see if there were any figs, but there were only leaves. Then he said to it, “May you never bear fruit again!” And immediately the fig tree withered up. The disciples were amazed when they saw this and asked, “How did the fig tree wither so quickly?” Then Jesus told them, “I tell you the truth, if you have faith and don’t doubt, you can do things like this and much more. You can even say to this mountain, ‘May you be lifted up and thrown into the sea,’ and it will happen. You can pray for anything, and if you have faith, you will receive it.”

Goal:

My goal today is to trust that my faith is the key to the power of my prayer.
Dear Lord and Father, I pray you will keep me strong in my faith that my prayers might be powerfully answered for your glory. I will dare to pray for the things I truly hope and desire in the knowledge that I will receive what ever I ask you for in faith. Today I pray especially that many people will come to know you Lord, through this TWG project of sharing a little piece of scripture every day. In the powerful name of Jesus, I pray. Amen

Today’s readings:

Exodus 12:14-13:16, Matthew 20:29-21:22, Psalms 25:16-22, Proverbs 6:12-15

Leave a Reply

