How do we define obedience?

Thought:

If asked a to perform a certain task and we agree to it, at what point have we obeyed? Did we obey when we agreed to do it or when we actually did it? This seems a fairly obvious point in this simple context but it becomes a lot more challenging in the context of our whole lives. It’s not so simple when we try to apply obedience to God to our comfortable lifestyles. It is one thing to say you believe in Jesus and call yourself a Christian. It is quite another to live out that faith and actually follow Jesus’s example with your whole heart and soul!

Word:

Matthew 21:28-32 NLT

The parable of the two sons

“But what do you think about this? A man with two sons told the older boy, ‘Son, go out and work in the vineyard today.’ The son answered, ‘No, I won’t go,’ but later he changed his mind and went anyway. Then the father told the other son, ‘You go,’ and he said, ‘Yes, sir, I will.’ But he didn’t go. “Which of the two obeyed his father?” They replied, “The first.” Then Jesus explained his meaning: “I tell you the truth, corrupt tax collectors and prostitutes will get into the Kingdom of God before you do. For John the Baptist came and showed you the right way to live, but you didn’t believe him, while tax collectors and prostitutes did. And even when you saw this happening, you refused to believe him and repent of your sins.

Goal:

I have often said, and will say it many times in the future, that I was struck immediately and powerfully by the preaching I heard on the first Sunday I spent in church having realised I wanted to turn to Jesus. The message was simple and clear: read and obey the word.
My goal is the same today as it was that day. I went out the next day and bought a bible which I read from cover to cover. So now I have read it a few times, perhaps it is time I started obeying.

Today’s readings:

Exodus 13:17-15:18, Matthew 21:23-46, Psalms 26:1-12, Proverbs 6:16-19

Leave a Reply

