“My soul is crushed with grief to the point of death. Stay here and keep watch with me.” (Ma tthew 26:38)

Thought:

I think it is easy to forget that Jesus was a man of flesh and blood just like the rest of us! Imagine the terror you would feel knowing that in a few hours time you would be arrested, beaten, humiliated and then nailed, hands and feet, to a huge wooden cross and left out to die in full view of everyone you love. No wonder he became anguished and distressed in the hours before he met his fate!

But as the psalmist points out, we can praise The Lord because Jesus didn’t run from his fate, he was strong and courageous and put his hope in his fathers will not his own.

Word:

Matthew 26:36-39 NLT

Then Jesus went with them to the olive grove called Gethsemane, and he said, “Sit here while I go over there to pray.” He took Peter and Zebedee’s two sons, James and John, and he became anguished and distressed. He told them, “My soul is crushed with grief to the point of death. Stay here and keep watch with me.” He went on a little farther and bowed with his face to the ground, praying, “My Father! If it is possible, let this cup of suffering be taken away from me. Yet I want your will to be done, not mine.”

Psalms 31:21-24 NLT

21 Praise the Lord,
for he has shown me the wonders of his unfailing love.
He kept me safe when my city was under attack.
22 In panic I cried out, “I am cut off from the Lord!”
But you heard my cry for mercy and answered my call for help.
23 Love the Lord, all you godly ones!
For the Lord protects those who are loyal to him,
but he harshly punishes the arrogant.
24 So be strong and courageous,
all you who put your hope in the Lord!

Goal:

We all have to go through dark and terrible times in our lives, and we must remember that even Jesus experienced moments of sheer terror. So like him, my goal is to try to be strong and courageous and keep my hope in The Lord when I feel afraid and alone.

Today’s readings:

Exodus 29:1-30:10, Matthew 26: 14-46, Psalms 31:19-24, Proverbs 8:14-26

Leave a Reply

