Oh, what joy for those whose disobedience is forgiven, whose sin is put out of sight! (Psalm 32:1)

Thought:

Each and every one of us has to deal with the issue of sin. The question is not: am I a sinner? The question is: do I acknowledge that I am a sinner? the problem most people have with sin is that they don’t see it. They don’t accept that they do anything wrong or have anything to be sorry about. Having said that, I also think that most people are aware of a subtle, background burden of guilt that they are carrying. The amazing truth however, is that by acknowledging that guilt and confessing it and facing up to it, it is possible to be completely released from its grip. If you know you have a burden of sin, you can confess it and turn from it and find peace.

Word:

Psalms 32:1-5 NLT

1 Oh, what joy for those whose disobedience is forgiven,
whose sin is put out of sight!
2 Yes, what joy for those whose record the Lord has cleared of guilt,
whose lives are lived in complete honesty!
3 When I refused to confess my sin,
my body wasted away, and I groaned all day long.
4 Day and night your hand of discipline was heavy on me.
My strength evaporated like water in the summer heat.

5 Finally, I confessed all my sins to you and stopped trying to hide my guilt.
I said to myself, “I will confess my rebellion to The Lord.”
And you forgave me! All my guilt is gone.

Proverbs 8:32 NLT

“And so, my children, listen to me, for all who follow my ways are joyful.

Goal:

The passage from Psalm 32 above perfectly describes how I felt in the days and months following my conversion. I had lived through many dark years, during which I had felt alone and tired, full of sorrow and sickness. And then, suddenly, there was a total clarity of vision in my mind, literally a new dawn of understanding had broken. I remember the gratitude I felt as I poured out my confession to God and felt the joy and immense relief of his forgiveness. Today’s goal is to confess again and turn from my sin again. The goal is to repent of my sins afresh everyday.

Today’s readings:

Exodus 30:11-31:18, Matthew 26:47-68, Psalms 32:1-11, Proverbs 8:27-32

Leave a Reply

