They said to me, ‘Make us gods who will lead us.'(Exodus 32:23)

Thought:

The conviction that God loves a person and the desire to change and turn to a life in the Lord’s service can be very sudden and very strong. Faith in God, though strong and life changing for an individual, can be extremely difficult to explain to others. Faith can be fragile at the best of times but when it is both recently acquired and faced with potentially violent opposition it can be extremely vulnerable.

Word:

Exodus 32:21-24 NLT

Finally, he turned to Aaron and demanded, “What did these people do to you to make you bring such terrible sin upon them?” “Don’t get so upset, my lord,” Aaron replied. “You yourself know how evil these people are. They said to me, ‘Make us gods who will lead us. We don’t know what happened to this fellow Moses, who brought us here from the land of Egypt.’ So I told them, ‘Whoever has gold jewelry, take it off.’ When they brought it to me, I simply threw it into the fire—and out came this calf!”

Matthew 26:69-75 NLT

Meanwhile, Peter was sitting outside in the courtyard. A servant girl came over and said to him, “You were one of those with Jesus the Galilean.” But Peter denied it in front of everyone. “I don’t know what you’re talking about,” he said. Later, out by the gate, another servant girl noticed him and said to those standing around, “This man was with Jesus of Nazareth. ” Again Peter denied it, this time with an oath. “I don’t even know the man,” he said. A little later some of the other bystanders came over to Peter and said, “You must be one of them; we can tell by your Galilean accent.” Peter swore, “A curse on me if I’m lying—I don’t know the man!” And immediately the rooster crowed. Suddenly, Jesus’ words flashed through Peter’s mind: “Before the rooster crows, you will deny three times that you even know me.” And he went away, weeping bitterly.

Goal:

New faith in an invisible God is all too easily overcome by the very real and very visible threat posed by the crowds of people among whom we live. My goal is to continue to try and strengthen my faith. I am still quite new to this and as such, I am aware of my vulnerability. I am striving to reach a maturity in my faith such that I will be able to withstand attacks on it with confidence. Until then I pray that I will be sheltered and spared the harshest tests of faith.

Today’s readings:

Exodus 32:1-33:23, Matthew 26:69-27:14, Psalms 33:1-11, Proverbs 8:33-36

Leave a Reply

