It was I who rescued you from the land of Egypt, that I might be your God. I am the Lord. (Leviticus 22:33)

Thought:

I find it terribly difficult to remember that everything comes from God. Also, that I can do nothing with out God’s help. Whether I choose to acknowledge God or not, all I have and all I have achieved, is by the grace of God. Faith in God really does make a difference in life when you realise that everything we have and all that we are, is down to God. If you can acknowledge your need for God’s help, then obedience becomes much easier. With obedience to God’s commands comes a flood of possibility previously dammed up behind walls of denial and pride.

Word:

Leviticus 22:31-33 NLT

“You must faithfully keep all my commands by putting them into practice, for I am the Lord. Do not bring shame on my holy name, for I will display my holiness among the people of Israel. I am the Lord who makes you holy. It was I who rescued you from the land of Egypt, that I might be your God. I am the Lord .”

Psalms 44:1-8 NLT

1 O God, we have heard it with our own ears—
our ancestors have told us of all you did in their day, in days long ago:
2 You drove out the pagan nations by your power and gave all the land to our ancestors.
You crushed their enemies and set our ancestors free.
3 They did not conquer the land with their swords; it was not their own strong arm that gave them victory.
It was your right hand and strong arm and the blinding light from your face that helped them, for you loved them.
4 You are my King and my God. You command victories for Israel.
5 Only by your power can we push back our enemies; only in your name can we trample our foes.
6 I do not trust in my bow; I do not count on my sword to save me.
7 You are the one who gives us victory over our enemies; you disgrace those who hate us.
8 O God, we give glory to you all day long and constantly praise your name.

Goal:

The psalmist sings his praise to the Lord because he can see that his ancestors, just like him, could have achieved nothing without God. It is not by our own effort that we are saved. It is not because of what we can do. It is by the grace of God. My goal for today and everyday, is to try and remember to find time to give thanks for each and everything I have been given by God.

Today’s readings:

Leviticus 22:17-23:44, Mark 9:30-10:12, Psalms 44:1-8, Proverbs 10:19

Leave a Reply

