“If you follow my decrees and are careful to obey my commands….” (Leviticus 26:3) Just read what is on offer!

Thought:

This issue of obedience to God’s Laws, decrees, commands etc, needs to be understood. It is not a threat – “Obey me or else I’ll make you sorry!” It is a simple request for us not to ignore the Law. I heard or read recently, a great analogy which comes to mind now. Obeying God’s Law is really no different from obeying the natural laws of physics as we understand them. For example, nobody would think they could defy the Law of gravity and step off a cliff without falling and sustaining the inevitable injury. Neither would you imagine you could retrieve a tool dropped into a fire with your bare hands without having your skin burned. And so it is with Gods law. If you choose to behave in ways that clearly break the law, then there will be inevitable consequences which are both predictable and avoidable.

Word:

Leviticus 26:3-13 NLT

“If you follow my decrees and are careful to obey my commands, I will send you the seasonal rains. The land will then yield its crops, and the trees of the field will produce their fruit. Your threshing season will overlap with the grape harvest, and your grape harvest will overlap with the season of planting grain. You will eat your fill and live securely in your own land. “I will give you peace in the land, and you will be able to sleep with no cause for fear. I will rid the land of wild animals and keep your enemies out of your land. In fact, you will chase down your enemies and slaughter them with your swords. Five of you will chase a hundred, and a hundred of you will chase ten thousand! All your enemies will fall beneath your sword. “I will look favourably upon you, making you fertile and multiplying your people. And I will fulfil my covenant with you. You will have such a surplus of crops that you will need to clear out the old grain to make room for the new harvest! I will live among you, and I will not despise you. I will walk among you; I will be your God, and you will be my people. I am the Lord your God, who brought you out of the land of Egypt so you would no longer be their slaves. I broke the yoke of slavery from your neck so you can walk with your heads held high.

Goal:

In just the same way as mankind has made great life enhancing leaps each time he has understood more of the natural laws of physics, God promises us great life enhancing gifts as we understand and obey his laws. My goal is to change my perception of God’s laws. I once thought of them as a set of prohibitions – Thou shalt not….etc. From now on I will understand them as if they are laws of nature. I will treat them seriously and with respect. I will embrace them and harness them and allow them to greatly enhance my life and the lives of those around me.

Today’s readings:

Leviticus 25:47-27:13, Mark 10:32-52, Psalms 45:1-17, Proverbs 10:22

Leave a Reply

