I wait quietly before God (Psalm 62:1)

Thought:

The longer I spend with the bible, reading it, praying with it and slowly learning to live by it, the stronger I feel in my faith. The stronger I feel in my faith, the more I find I want to do differently and the more I want to help effect changes in all areas of my life and society in general. But if change is going to be effective and lasting, it is wise to do things gradually, little by little. With faith comes confidence, and with faith and confidence can come great visions for the future. I certainly have great visions of the future. But I find I must wait quietly before God for His guidance, for His protection, for His strength, for His power. For without God, I’m just a broken-down wall or a tottering fence.

Word:

Psalms 62:1-8 NLT

1 I wait quietly before God,
for my victory comes from him.
2 He alone is my rock and my salvation,
my fortress where I will never be shaken.
3 So many enemies against one man—
all of them trying to kill me.
To them I’m just a broken-down wall
or a tottering fence.
4 They plan to topple me from my high position.
They delight in telling lies about me.
They praise me to my face but curse me in their hearts.
Interlude
5 Let all that I am wait quietly before God,
for my hope is in him.
6 He alone is my rock and my salvation,
my fortress where I will not be shaken.
7 My victory and honour come from God alone.
He is my refuge, a rock where no enemy can reach me.
8 O my people, trust in him at all times.
Pour out your heart to him, for God is our refuge.
Interlude

Goal:

Dear Lord and Father, help me to wait quietly before you for all my hope is in you. Let me not run away with my enthusiasm before I am ready in case I leave you behind. Help me to keep trusting in you my dear Lord, what ever troubles I face, and I pray you will hear me when I pour out my heart to you, when I need to hide in you, to take refuge in you from my worries. In the name of Jesus, my saviour, I pray. Amen.

Today’s readings:

Numbers 28:16-29:40, Luke 3:23-38, Psalms 62:1-12, Proverbs 11:18-19

Leave a Reply

