If I had not confessed the sin in my heart, the Lord would not have listened. (Psalm 66:18)

Thought:

My Geography teacher was also the Commanding Officer in charge of the CCF (Combined Cadet Force). He always used to say, about almost any situation, “The more you put in, the more you get out.” These days as I read through the bible I often find I hear those words from my teacher echoing round my head. The three verses below from Proverbs say very much the same thing. Interestingly, verse 18 in the psalm, is linked to this point too. The psalmist is telling all who will listen, that the Lord answered his prayer when he needed him. He says that he gave everything in his prayer for help. He cried out for help whilst praising him, and crucially, he also confessed the sin in his heart. Even when he was on his knees crying out for the Lord to help, he gave all he could in praise and confession. What is most astonishing about the Lord is his condition of confession before forgiveness. You will be forgiven anything if you genuinely and whole heartedly turn from your sins.

Word:

Proverbs 11:24-26 NLT

24 Give freely and become more wealthy;
be stingy and lose everything.
25 The generous will prosper;
those who refresh others will themselves be refreshed.
26 People curse those who hoard their grain,
but they bless the one who sells in time of need.

Psalms 66:16-20 NLT

16 Come and listen, all you who fear God,
and I will tell you what he did for me.
17 For I cried out to him for help,
praising him as I spoke.
18 If I had not confessed the sin in my heart,
the Lord would not have listened.
19 But God did listen!
He paid attention to my prayer.
20 Praise God, who did not ignore my prayer
or withdraw his unfailing love from me.

Goal:

More and more I find myself wondering how much more I can turn my life around to get it more in line with Jesus. I find that I am always trying to see what more I can put in and I look to see what God might do with what I can offer.

Today’s readings:

Numbers 36:1-13, Deuteronomy 1:1-46, Luke 5:29-6:11, Psalms 66:1-20,
Proverbs 11:22-26

Leave a Reply

