Has the Lord rejected me forever? Will he never again be kind to me? (Psalm 77:7)

Thought:

When we feel God is with us because we have the things we need and our prayers seem to be answered regularly and swiftly, life can feel wonderful and everything seems possible. But when everything goes wrong, and the idyl collapses, what then?
When you are in pain, either physical or emotional, it is very hard to see an end to it. Pain is very present, very immediate. Your whole being is consumed by it. When you are in pain, nothing else matters but the pain and how to get rid of it. When you are in pain it can seem ridiculous to pray, it might even be so bad that you couldn’t pray even if you wanted to!

Word:

Psalms 77:4-12 NLT

4 You don’t let me sleep.
I am too distressed even to pray!
5 I think of the good old days,
long since ended,
6 when my nights were filled with joyful songs.
I search my soul and ponder the difference now.
7 Has the Lord rejected me forever?
Will he never again be kind to me?
8 Is his unfailing love gone forever?
Have his promises permanently failed?
9 Has God forgotten to be gracious?
Has he slammed the door on his compassion? – Interlude –
10 And I said, “This is my fate;
the Most High has turned his hand against me.”
11 But then I recall all you have done, O Lord;
I remember your wonderful deeds of long ago.
12 They are constantly in my thoughts.
I cannot stop thinking about your mighty works.

Goal:

I have been where the psalmist was when he said, “This is my fate; the Most High has turned his hand against me.” Each time I have been on the verge of giving up, I have remembered the bible. I can’t tell you the number of times I have been completely at a loss as to what to do and I have opened my bible and found comfort and hope. Sometimes I get direct instructions as to exactly what I should do, other times I just see the problem from a new perspective and I am able to deal with it better. I have never turned to the Bible in time of need and been let down or crushed further or discouraged. If in doubt open your bible one more time before you give up.

Today’s readings:

Deuteronomy 28:1-68, Luke 11:14-36, Psalms 77:1-20, Proverbs 12:18

Leave a Reply

