Use your worldly resources to benefit others and make friends.(Luke 16:9)

Thought:

Dishonest rascals can seem very romantic for lots of reasons. Sometimes they appear to be under dogs who are only on the wrong side of the law because more powerful and more dishonest people have taken advantage of them. Sometimes they perform crimes that defy belief and their achievements seem to reach levels of genius. But no body is ever really impressed by their crimes, it’s their spirit and fight that we admire. Cleverness, intelligence or shrewdness are all admirable qualities. In the parable below the rich man who is firing his dishonest manager admires his employees last act of dishonesty because ultimately it was an act of kindness and generosity. I am not in anyway glamorising the managers dishonest behaviour I am simply focusing on the lesson. We live in a very selfish and unfair world. In the world, acts of kindness really can make for lasting friendships. Which of us wouldn’t be more inclined to share with a friend who had shared with us before sharing with a total stranger?

Word:

Luke 16:1-9 NLT

Jesus told this story to his disciples: “There was a certain rich man who had a manager handling his affairs. One day a report came that the manager was wasting his employer’s money. So the employer called him in and said, ‘What’s this I hear about you? Get your report in order, because you are going to be fired.’ “The manager thought to himself, ‘Now what? My boss has fired me. I don’t have the strength to dig ditches, and I’m too proud to beg. Ah, I know how to ensure that I’ll have plenty of friends who will give me a home when I am fired.’ “So he invited each person who owed money to his employer to come and discuss the situation. He asked the first one, ‘How much do you owe him?’ The man replied, ‘I owe him 800 gallons of olive oil.’ So the manager told him, ‘Take the bill and quickly change it to 400 gallons.’ “‘And how much do you owe my employer?’ he asked the next man. ‘I owe him 1,000 bushels of wheat,’ was the reply. ‘Here,’ the manager said, ‘take the bill and change it to 800 bushels.’ “The rich man had to admire the dishonest rascal for being so shrewd. And it is true that the children of this world are more shrewd in dealing with the world around them than are the children of the light. Here’s the lesson: Use your worldly resources to benefit others and make friends. Then, when your earthly possessions are gone, they will welcome you to an eternal home.

Goal:

My goal is to try to make friends with more strangers. I have made some good friends in my church only recently and we have shared good times and bad times already in the short time we have known each other. I would like to keep on using what ever I have to benefit others and make new friends.

Today’s readings:

Joshua 7:16-9:2, Luke 16:1-18, Psalms 82:1-8, Proverbs 13:2-3

Leave a Reply

