Everything he had spoken came true. (Joshua 21:45)

Thought:

The Lord had promised a homeland to the fathers of Israel hundreds of years before they actually conquered the land. By the time they had settled and made it their home, Abraham, Isaac and Jacob were no more real to them than they are to us today. I am very conscious these days, that the Lord honours his good promises in his own good time. All I will ever know is that the Lord loves me as a father loves his own child. He will give me peace and rest on all sides. My enemies will not be able to stand against me forever because he will help me overcome them. I don’t know when, I don’t know how, I just live in faith, knowing that he has promised us all these things.

Word:

Joshua 21:43-45 NLT

So the Lord gave to Israel all the land he had sworn to give their ancestors, and they took possession of it and settled there. And the Lord gave them rest on every side, just as he had solemnly promised their ancestors. None of their enemies could stand against them, for the Lord helped them conquer all their enemies. Not a single one of all the good promises the Lord had given to the family of Israel was left unfulfilled; everything he had spoken came true.

Goal:

My goal is to remember to persevere with my faith no matter how bad things get. Jesus made this promise to his disciples – Seek the Kingdom of God above all else, and he will give you everything you need. (Luke 12:31) Well, I am seeking the the Kingdom with all my might and I hope with all my heart that… Not a single one of all the good promises the Lord has given all who believe in Jesus will be left unfulfilled, that everything he has spoken will come true.

Today’s readings:

Joshua 21:1-22:20, Luke 20:1-26, Psalms 89:1-13, Proverbs 13:15-16

Leave a Reply

