Just as you can hear the wind but can’t tell where it comes from or where it is going, so you can ’t explain how people are born of the Spirit.”(John 3:8)

Thought:

Nicodemus, the Pharisee, was curious about what Jesus had to say. However, because of his official position as a Pharisee, he couldn’t openly seek him out. So he went in secret, after dark one evening. Nicodemus was struggling to understand the concept of being born again of the Spirit and, to him, Jesus must have seemed to be speaking in riddles. I can’t help thinking that Nicodemus was doomed never to understand or be born of the Spirit of God. The very fact that he felt he needed to keep his interest in Jesus’s teaching under the radar, so to speak, would cause a blockage in his soul. His concern that his peers might ridicule, reject or even harm him seemed to be far stronger than his concern to be born again into the Kingdom of Heaven.

Word:

John 3:1-11 NLT

There was a man named Nicodemus, a Jewish religious leader who was a Pharisee. After dark one evening, he came to speak with Jesus. “Rabbi,” he said, “we all know that God has sent you to teach us. Your miraculous signs are evidence that God is with you.” Jesus replied, “I tell you the truth, unless you are born again, you cannot see the Kingdom of God.” “What do you mean?” exclaimed Nicodemus. “How can an old man go back into his mother’s womb and be born again?” Jesus replied, “I assure you, no one can enter the Kingdom of God without being born of water and the Spirit. Humans can reproduce only human life, but the Holy Spirit gives birth to spiritual life. So don’t be surprised when I say, ‘You must be born again.’ The wind blows wherever it wants. Just as you can hear the wind but can’t tell where it comes from or where it is going, so you can’t explain how people are born of the Spirit.” “How are these things possible?” Nicodemus asked. Jesus replied,“You are a respected Jewish teacher, and yet you don’t understand these things? I assure you, we tell you what we know and have seen, and yet you won’t believe our testimony.

Goal:

When I turned to Jesus and began this journey of faith just over two years ago, I had no doubt that I had been born again. However, over the last two years, as I have read and learned more and more about living in faith, I have often questioned whether this was in fact the case. I have asked myself the question, many times, how do I know if I have ever experienced the presence of the Holy Spirit? Have I really been born again or is there more to it that I am yet to discover? John 3:8 is my answer. So my goal for today is to stop asking if I have been born again and just get on with living in the knowledge that it is not possible to be definitive about these things. The wind is blowing and my soul can hear it rushing through. That is all I need. Amen.

Today’s readings:

Judges 17:1-18:31, John 3:1-21, Psalms 104:1-23, Proverbs 14:20-21

Leave a Reply

