For the despondent, every day brings trouble; for the happy heart, life is a continual feast. (Proverbs 15:15)

Thought:

I love the book of Proverbs but I rarely feature them in these devotionals because of the way they occur in my reading plan. Everyday the last thing I read is a verse, maybe two from Proverbs. Profound and wonderful as they most often are, I like to offer a passage of between 5-10 verses of scripture each day. Today, however, I make an exception for these three powerful verses which all seem to make a similar points. For me, the common point in all three verses, is the focus on the benefits of a positive attitude in life. These ideas are so simple and true and yet, I know I have spent more of my life on the despondent side, and I have turned away from spending quality time with loved ones and have often eaten alone and far from home.

Word:

Proverbs 15:15-17 NLT

15 For the despondent, every day brings trouble;
for the happy heart, life is a continual feast.

16 Better to have little, with fear for the Lord,
than to have great treasure and inner turmoil.

17 A bowl of vegetables with someone you love
is better than steak with someone you hate.

Goal:

Dear Lord and father,

Thank you for the simple wisdom you have spoken to us in the book of Proverbs. I am so grateful that I have found this great treasure house of knowledge of how to live in peace for your honour and glory. Father forgive me for the years I spent living in despondency and inner turmoil because I chose not to acknowledge you. I had no fear of you and I wouldn’t let you guide me or protect me. Lord I thank you for the friends I have found since you called me to open up my heart and my life to you. And I thank you too, for all the vegetables we have shared – vegetables have never tasted so good! Father I pray, in the name of Jesus, that you will preserve the happy heart you have blessed me with, and that it may be a gift and an inspiration to those who are seeking your great treasure and continual feast in their despondency or inner turmoil…..Amen.

Today’s readings:

1 Samuel 20:1-21:15, John 9:1-41, Psalms 113:1-114:8, Proverbs 15:15-17

Leave a Reply

