Joyful are the people of integrity, who follow the instructions of the Lord. (Psalm 119:1)

Thought:

It strikes me that one of the largest barriers in the way of many people coming to faith is the issue of obedience. The idea that they might somehow actually be accountable to God seems ridiculous to them. They ask “how can we even be sure there is a God? Even if there is a God, how would we know what his instructions are?” I can’t persuade anyone that there is a God. I can’t prove it, scientifically or otherwise, but I can say that I have seen true joy in the lives of those people of integrity I know, who are trying to live by the instructions of the Lord. All I can really say to those who don’t believe or can’t believe, is that I read the Bible to see if I could get a better understanding of God. It has changed my life. If you really want to know about God, you can’t lose anything you already have by reading the Bible. But perhaps there are things to be gained that you don’t yet know.

Word:

Psalm 119:1-8 NLT

1 Joyful are the people of integrity,
who follow the instructions of the Lord.
2 Joyful are those who obey his laws
and search for him with all their hearts.
3 They do not compromise with evil,
and they walk only on his paths.
4 You have charged me to keep
your commandments carefully.
5 Oh that my actions would consistently
reflect your decrees!
6 Then I would not be ashamed
when I compare my life with your commands.
7 As I learn your righteous regulations,
I will thank you by living as I should!
8 I will obey your decrees.
Please don’t give up on me!

Goal:

The more I learn, and the longer I study the word of the Lord, the more I find I want to change the way I live. As the Psalmist says in verse 7, I feel more and more grateful that I am learning a better way to live and I find the best way to show my appreciation is to put this new knowledge into practice in my life. My goal is to become a man of integrity and I hope I might experience the joy that comes when you obey God’s laws and search for him with all your heart.

Today’s readings:

2 Samuel 2:12-3:39, John 13:1-30, Psalms 119:1-16, Proverbs 15:29-30

Leave a Reply

