Your word is a lamp to guide my feet and a light for my path. (Psalm 119:105)

Thought:

Of all the verses in the Bible, I read this verse first. It is written across the inside cover of the first bible I bought a few weeks after coming to faith in the early spring of 2011. As I read it, printed across the bottom of the presentation page of my new bible, I had no real thoughts, or any firm idea of just how fundamentally true this verse would turn out to be. These eight verses together are like looking into a mirror and seeing the depths of my heart written out on the page in front of me. I have promised many times to obey the Lord and I failed many times, but I will promise again and again. Since becoming a Christian I have suffered as much as I ever did before I knew the Lord. But having read of his promises, in the Bible, I wait with confidence for the Lord to restore my life again. The laws and all the wonderful wisdom, advice and guidance I have found in the Bible, have truly become my treasure, and they really are my heart’s delight.

Word:

Psalm 119:105-112

105 Your word is a lamp to guide my feet
and a light for my path.
106 I’ve promised it once and I’ll promise
it again: I will obey your righteous regulations.
107 I have suffered much, O Lord;
restore my life again as you promised.
108 Lord, accept my offering of praise,
and teach me your regulations.
109 My Life constantly hangs in the balance,
but I will not stop obeying your instructions.
110 The wicked have set their traps for me,
but I will not turn from your commandments.
111 Your laws are my treasure;
they are my heart’s delight.
112 I am determined to keep your decrees
to the very end.

Goal:

I pray that the Lord will continue to accept my humble and inadequate offerings of praise, and then continue to teach me his regulations. Also, I remain determined to keep the Lord’s decrees to the very end. Although we have been released from the impossible task of keeping the Law in the hope of gaining our salvation by Jesus’s great sacrifice as he died to take our sins away, I find I am still full of sin. I remain committed to keeping the Lords decrees so that, though the transformative power of the Holy Spirit, I might learn to defeat the power of sin in my life. It seems to me that those who carry holiness in and around them, are those who seem to have learned not to let sin rule in their hearts. They seem holy because they are the ones among us who fear sin the least. Holiness is found where sin is not.

Today’s readings:

2 Samuel 14:1-15:22, John 18:1-24, Psalms 119:97-112, Proverbs 16:8-9

Leave a Reply

