I called on the Lord, who is worthy of praise, and he saved me from my enemies.(2 Samuel 22:4)

Thought:

Yesterday, I appealed to anyone who felt Psalm 121 was a nice sentiment, but that they couldn’t really believe God could really be such a wonderful guardian. Today I have chosen to share David’s song to the Lord which he sang after he had been saved from Saul and all his enemies. David was a mighty warrior with great skill at arms, but he was never in any doubt about where the true source of his success was to be found. Although Psalm 121 is not attributed to David, it’s theme of the Lord’s help and protection is very close to David’s theme in this song, below.

Word:

2 Samuel 22:1-7 NLT

David sang this song to the Lord when the Lord had rescued him from all his enemies and from Saul. He sang:

“The Lord is my rock, my fortress, and my saviour;
my God is my rock, in whom I find protection.
he is my shield, the power that saves me
and my place of safety.
He is my refuge, my saviour,
the one who saves me from violence.
I called on the Lord, who is worthy of praise,
and he saved me from my enemies.
The waves of death overwhelmed me;
floods of destruction swept over me.
The grave wrapped its ropes around me;
death laid a trap in my path.
But in my distress I cried out to the Lord;
yes, I cried to my God for help.
He heard me cry from his sanctuary;
my cry reached his ears.

Goal:

My goal today is the same as yesterday’s. Today we read David’s own feelings of praise and thanksgiving at being saved from the very jaws of death itself when he cried out to the Lord for help. As I said yesterday, if you wish you could experience this kind of help and protection in your life, cry out to the Lord and he will hear your cry from his sanctuary; your cry will reach his ears and he really will come to your aid. Trust in the promises the Lord had made to all of us and you will see change happen in your life.

Today’s readings:

2 Samuel: 22:1-23:23, Acts 2:1-47, Psalms 122:1-9, Proverbs 16:19-20
05/06/13

Leave a Reply

