Unless the Lord builds a house, the work of the builders is wasted.(Psalm 127:1)

Thought:

I am becoming steadily more and more aware that I am never really in control of my life. In fact I can control nothing except my own actions and choices. Even that often seems untrue these days! When I first became aware of this reality, long before I became a christian, it used to frighten me. However, since I have come to know God, I realise that everything comes from him and in him is life and freedom and joy. In accepting the truth that everything comes from and belongs to God, under his supervision and for his glory, life is revealed as an abundant banquet laid out before you to meet your needs and for your enjoyment. In rejecting that idea, you must face life alone, using only your own limited and feeble resources. To many who take this view, life can seem harsh and lonely and full of fear.

Word:

Psalms 127:1-5 NLT

1 Unless the Lord builds a house,
the work of the builders is wasted.
Unless the Lord protects a city,
guarding it with sentries will do no good.
2 It is useless for you to work so hard
from early morning until late at night,
anxiously working for food to eat;
for God gives rest to his loved ones.
3 Children are a gift from the Lord;
they are a reward from him.
4 Children born to a young man
are like arrows in a warrior’s hands.
5 How joyful is the man whose quiver is full of them!
He will not be put to shame when
he confronts his accusers at the city gates.

Goal:

My goal is to remember that God sees me as his child. The Lord regards children in the same way as gifts or rewards. My daughter is so precious to me! She is, far and away, the most wonderful thing I have ever achieved – or rather, she is the most precious gift I have ever received. When I confessed my sin and recognised that everything I needed comes from God, The Lord gave me a new life and he adopted me as one of his own children.
I pray that I will not hinder my heavenly father as he builds me up with his knowledge and wisdom. I pray that he will build me into a house worthy of his presence, a place in which he would like to rest.

Today’s readings:

1 Kings 5:1-6:38, Acts 7:1-29, Psalms 127:1-5, Proverbs 16:28-30

Leave a Reply

