Philip asked, “Do you understand what you are reading?” The man replied, “How can I, unless someone instructs me?” (Acts 8:30-31)

Thought:

An angel of the Lord tells Philip to set out along the desert road to Gaza, so he does it despite the dangers of solitary travel in those days. There, he meets an very important Ethiopian of great authority. Then the Holy Spirit tells him to approach the carriage and walk alongside it, which he also does. It can’t have felt comfortable or natural for Philip to approach the wealthy man in his carriage. Having responded twice to the prompting of God, Philip realises the man’s need and acts, as he is able, by helping him to understand the significance of the Good News using the very scripture the man was reading as a starting point.

Word:

Acts 8:26-35 NLT

As for Philip, an angel of the Lord said to him, “Go south down the desert road that runs from Jerusalem to Gaza.” So he started out, and he met the treasurer of Ethiopia, a eunuch of great authority under the Kandake, the queen of Ethiopia. The eunuch had gone to Jerusalem to worship, and he was now returning. Seated in his carriage, he was reading aloud from the book of the prophet Isaiah. The Holy Spirit said to Philip, “Go over and walk along beside the carriage.” Philip ran over and heard the man reading from the prophet Isaiah. Philip asked, “Do you understand what you are reading?” The man replied, “How can I, unless someone instructs me?” And he urged Philip to come up into the carriage and sit with him. The passage of Scripture he had been reading was this: “He was led like a sheep to the slaughter. And as a lamb is silent before the shearers, he did not open his mouth. He was humiliated and received no justice. Who can speak of his descendants? For his life was taken from the earth.” The eunuch asked Philip, “Tell me, was the prophet talking about himself or someone else?” So beginning with this same Scripture, Philip told him the Good News about Jesus.

Goal:

I can’t really explain how it is I do this everyday. I have never really been one for keeping a journal. In fact writing generally, has always been something I have avoided. All I can say is that reading the bible everyday has had a profound impact on my experience of life. My life is massively improved because of the wisdom and comfort I have found in the scriptures. Nicky Gumble (the man who created Alpha) helped me read through the whole bible with an email commentary which I received every single day. One of the things that has most fascinated me is that no matter where you start in the scriptures, there is something relevant and applicable to your life today. It doesn’t matter where you look in the whole bible, you will find God and ultimately, Jesus everywhere you look. My goal is simply to try, in my own small way, to do as Philip did under the direction of the Holy Spirit. I hope I can offer a little encouragement to those searching for the Good News of Jesus in the scriptures.

Today’s readings:

1 Kings 9:1-10:29, Acts 8:14-40, Psalms 130:1-8, Proverbs 17:2-3

Leave a Reply

