Then the angel of the Lord came again and touched him and said, “Get up and eat some more, or the jo urney ahead will be too much for you.”(1 Kings 19:7)

Thought:

This passage about the angel of the Lord coming to Elijah with food and drink as he lies exhausted and in fear of his life fills me with such hope. When I first began this TWG Daily Devotionals project, I would write each one very early in the morning and send it straight out. Then, a little later and as I saw storm clouds brewing over my life, I felt strongly that I should have the daily devotionals written a few weeks or even a month in advance. Then as I had suspected, the storm broke over my private life but I was able nevertheless to continue to send out TWG everyday. Now the storm has passed and TWG approaching the half-way point – six months of daily devotionals and I am almost back where I started, writing only a day or two ahead. I am tired and far away from the safe place I thought I would be living in, but as I read passages like the one below, I know the Lord will give me the strength I need to complete this journey, sharing my thoughts and goals as I read through the Bible in One Year.

Word:

1 Kings 19:1-8 NLT

When Ahab got home, he told Jezebel everything Elijah had done, including the way he had killed all the prophets of Baal. So Jezebel sent this message to Elijah: “May the gods strike me and even kill me if by this time tomorrow I have not killed you just as you killed them.” Elijah was afraid and fled for his life. He went to Beersheba, a town in Judah, and he left his servant there. Then he went on alone into the wilderness, traveling all day. He sat down under a solitary broom tree and prayed that he might die. “I have had enough, Lord,” he said. “Take my life, for I am no better than my ancestors who have already died.” Then he lay down and slept under the broom tree. But as he was sleeping, an angel touched him and told him, “Get up and eat!” He looked around and there beside his head was some bread baked on hot stones and a jar of water! So he ate and drank and lay down again. Then the angel of the Lord came again and touched him and said, “Get up and eat some more, or the journey ahead will be too much for you.” So he got up and ate and drank, and the food gave him enough strength to travel forty days and forty nights to Mount Sinai, the mountain of God.

Goal:

Elijah was was so alone and so exhausted that he begged the lord to take away his life. He had dramatically demonstrated the power of the Lord and executed all the prophets of Baal. But the threat to his life remained and Elijah, instead of achieving fame, fortune and respect, found himself an outlaw, alone and worn out. But he never thought to abandon his faith in the Lord. He may have hoped for death, but he never gave up believing in the Lord. My Goal is never to turn from God, whatever the circumstance may be. The past six months have been turbulent, and I find myself worried and unsure how things will turn out. But I will not turn from the Lord because with out the daily wisdom and comfort I find when I read the scriptures in the Bible, I dread to think how bleak my life could have become.

Today’s readings:

1 Kings 19:1-21, Acts 12:1-23, Psalms 136:1-26, Proverbs 17:14-15

Leave a Reply

