I can never escape from your Spirit! I can never get away from your presence! (Psalm 139:7)

Thought:

These six verses of Psalm 139 could seem confusing and perhaps worrying to those who are sceptical about God. The confusion arises from the apparent contradiction between God giving us the freedom to go our own way without him, yet at the same time, keeping a watch and a record of our deeds and actions. I find it a real comfort that I can never get away from God because it means he is always available to me. It also means that he is always available to those, who, for what ever reason, choose not to acknowledge their need for the Lord. God loves you whether you like it or not. God loves you whether you believe in him or not. That is really something worth thinking about whether you believe it or not. I believe God lives in our hearts and deep within our consciences. And so even if you have trouble believing in God as written in the Bible, I think you would find it hard to deny that you can ever hide your darkest thoughts, desires and actions or from your own conscience. You can never hide from yourself and likewise, you can never hide from God.

Word:

Psalms 139:7-12 NLT

7 I can never escape from your Spirit!
I can never get away from your presence!
8 If I go up to heaven, you are there;
if I go down to the grave, you are there.
9 If I ride the wings of the morning,
if I dwell by the farthest oceans,
10 even there your hand will guide me,
and your strength will support me.
11 I could ask the darkness to hide me
and the light around me to become night—
12 but even in darkness I cannot hide from you.
To you the night shines as bright as day.
Darkness and light are the same to you.

Goal:

I spent literally decades trying to avoid God. I tried to walk away from the truth I had first heard as a child. But I found I could not escape God. Nothing else I have found in science or philosophy or the vices of the world could ever equal, substitute or make sense like the truth of the Lord. My goal therefore, is simply to surrender to the love, truth and ever present reality of God and live, from now on, with the wisdom and Love of God as written in the Bible as my primary point of reference and my only goal.

Today’s readings:

2 Kings 1:1-2:25, Acts 13:42-14:7, Psalms 139:1-24, Proverbs 17:19-21

Leave a Reply

