I have heard your prayer and seen your tears. I will heal you…(2 Kings 20:5)

Thought:

I have been mistaken about the nature of the Lord’s compassion. Until very recently I had assumed that if you received the word of God regarding your future, either through a divine revelation, or from the mouth of a prophet, then that was how it was going to be. Also I had assumed that miraculous healing by the power of God or the Holy spirit was new to the time of Jesus and the writers of the New Testament. Here, in today’s passage, we see that this is in fact not true. On hearing of his imminent death from the prophet Isaiah, King Hezekiah turned to the wall and prayed. He reminded the Lord that he had always been faithful, dedicated and had done what he could to please Him. Then he wept bitterly. It strikes me that it is the confession of faith and loyal devotion accompanied by the weeping of the king, that touches The Lord’s heart. Hezekiah was clearly devastated by God’s decision that he would soon die. His humility and his open-hearted cry to God are the key. The Lord heard Hezekiah’s prayer and, filled with compassion for him, immediately sends Isaiah back to tell him he will answer his humble prayer and heal him after all.

Word:

2 Kings 20:1-7 NLT

About that time Hezekiah became deathly ill, and the prophet Isaiah son of Amoz went to visit him. He gave the king this message: “This is what the Lord says: Set your affairs in order, for you are going to die. You will not recover from this illness.” When Hezekiah heard this, he turned his face to the wall and prayed to the Lord, “Remember, O Lord, how I have always been faithful to you and have served you single-mindedly, always doing what pleases you.” Then he broke down and wept bitterly. But before Isaiah had left the middle courtyard, this message came to him from the Lord: “Go back to Hezekiah, the leader of my people. Tell him, ‘This is what the Lord, the God of your ancestor David, says: I have heard your prayer and seen your tears. I will heal you, and three days from now you will get out of bed and go to the Temple of the Lord. I will add fifteen years to your life, and I will rescue you and this city from the king of Assyria. I will defend this city for my own honour and for the sake of my servant David.’” Then Isaiah said, “Make an ointment from figs.” So Hezekiah’s servants spread the ointment over the boil, and Hezekiah recovered!

Goal:

I worship the Lord. He is the living God. The God of Abraham, Isaac and Jacob/Israel. He is the God of David from whose line came Jesus, the Son of God. This is the same God who rescued the Israelites from slavery in Egypt and brought them across the Jordan into the Promised Land. He is the God who has forgiven his rebellious people time and time again and who still holds good to his promise that he will welcome all who turn to him in true humility who are truly sorry that they have rejected him and turned to their own ways. My goal today is to remember that The Lord will always heal me when I trust in him alone and open my heart and my whole life to him.

Today’s readings:

2 Kings 20:1-22:2, Acts 21:18-36, Psalms 150:1-6, Proverbs 18:9-10

Leave a Reply

