I come to you for protection, O Lord my God. Save me from my persecutors—rescue me! (Psalm 7:1)

Thought:

Most people are familiar with the idea that people turn to God most commonly when they need some kind of protection or rescue. When people think they might be about to die, even those who would never normally do so, tend to want to give prayer a go. So that is fairly unremarkable. But what is remarkable about this prayer is what the psalmist says next. Firstly he says what he is sure will happen if the Lord does not save him. And in so doing he also says quite clearly that there is no one else to rescue him. Only God can do it. The second point of interest in this prayer for rescue is that the psalmist doesn’t claim to be sinless. He asks the Lord to examine his soul and see if he is guilty of sins grave enough to warrant the threat to his life. Then he goes further and asks that if he is guilty then God should let his enemies trample him into the ground. The Psalmist has faith that, by comparison to his enemies and persecutors, the Lord will judge him fairly. And so he lays himself and his sins before the Lord for his judgement in the hope that he will receive salvation.

Word:

Psalms 7:1-5 NLT

1 I come to you for protection, O Lord my God.
Save me from my persecutors—rescue me!
2 If you don’t, they will maul me like a lion,
tearing me to pieces with no one to rescue me.
3 O Lord my God, if I have done wrong
or am guilty of injustice,
4 if I have betrayed a friend
or plundered my enemy without cause,
5 then let my enemies capture me.
Let them trample me into the ground
and drag my honour in the dust.
Interlude

Goal:

My goal today and everyday is to pray to God through the Psalms. Today I want to remember what the Psalmist wrote out in the first five verses of Psalm 7 above. I come to the Lord for rescue, for my salvation. Without the Lord’s protection, the forces of the world would tear me to pieces without thought or mercy and there would be no one to rescue me. Also I want to remind myself that I am not without sin, but that I can trust the Lord to judge me according to what he finds in my heart. I have asked him to come and live in my heart so that we might walk together through this life and on into eternity in the kingdom of heaven. I pray the Lord will find his love in my heart and so my enemies will never trample me into the ground.

Today’s readings:

1 Chronicles 7:1-8:40, Acts 27:1-20, Psalms 7:1-17, Proverbs 18:22

Leave a Reply

