But take courage! None of you will lose your lives, even though the ship will go down. (Acts 27:22)

Thought:

This little passage, towards the end of the book of Acts really helps us keep things in perspective. The ship carrying Paul to his trial before Caesar in Rome is about to be lost. Having predicted this before the ship had left, Paul is able to speak to the ships crew with some authority. He tells them that God has revealed to him in a vision that he will get to Rome to stand trial. Also Paul tells them that God in his mercy, will save the lives of everyone on board. But they will still lose the ship and everything else besides.
I feel as if I, myself, have suddenly been shipwrecked on an island. But I find myself grateful to be alive and well. It is strange that I am not wondering why this has happened to me and neither am I in despair. This is, I think, because God has promised me life and I believe God. But he has wrecked me on an island first, and I have thrown some of the useless things of the past overboard and the rest I have left in the ship as it sank and now it is lost to the sea.

Word:

Acts 27:20-26 NLT

The terrible storm raged for many days, blotting out the sun and the stars, until at last all hope was gone. No one had eaten for a long time. Finally, Paul called the crew together and said, “Men, you should have listened to me in the first place and not left Crete. You would have avoided all this damage and loss. But take courage! None of you will lose your lives, even though the ship will go down. For last night an angel of the God to whom I belong and whom I serve stood beside me, and he said, ‘Don’t be afraid, Paul, for you will surely stand trial before Caesar! What’s more, God in his goodness has granted safety to everyone sailing with you.’ So take courage! For I believe God. It will be just as he said. But we will be shipwrecked on an island.”

Goal:

My goal is to take courage in the same way that Paul encouraged the crew on his ship shortly before they were shipwrecked. I feel as if I’ve lost all my possessions in a shipwreck but I also feel passion for a new life with God. This shipwreck in my live has opened my eyes to what really matters to me. My faith in the promises of the Lord that I have recently found and read everyday in the Bible. I may be back to square one again financially and materially, but emotionally I am richly blessed. I have a wonderful baby daughter with whom I am currently spending a lot of quality time. I have made new and strong friendships in the community of believers to which I now firmly belong. On paper I have lost a lot. But in my heart I give thanks and praise everyday because the Lord rescued me from drowning as my ship went down.

Today’s readings:

1 Chronicles 9:1-10:14, Acts 27:21-44, Psalms 8:1-9, Proverbs 18:23-24

Leave a Reply

