People ruin their lives by their own foolishness and then are angry at the Lord. (Proverbs 19:3)

Thought:

I don’t very often choose to write about what I read from Proverbs for two main reasons. Firstly, I usually only read one or two verses, and secondly, very often, they are simple and self explanatory. But today I was struck by the importance of Proverbs 19:3. I strikes me that people most often turn to, or question God, when things have gone wrong in their lives. Some people find real and lasting faith during times of crisis, but equally often, others continue to look beyond their own responsibilities for someone or something else to blame. When all else is lost, they can always blame God. I’m sure we all know people who have ruined their own lives but always seem to find someone else to blame. Perhaps we ourselves used to be like that. The key here is simply that God loves us and cares for us because he made us and we are his children. But God has given us great freedom to choose to live as we would like. If we make poor choices, how can God be to blame? We can choose to live as God would like us to and he has given us his instructions. Or we can choose to ignore God and go our own way.

Word:

Proverbs 19:1-6 NLT

1 Better to be poor and honest
than to be dishonest and a fool.
2 Enthusiasm without knowledge is no good;
haste makes mistakes.
3 People ruin their lives by their own foolishness
and then are angry at the Lord.
4 Wealth makes many “friends”;
poverty drives them all away.
5 A false witness will not go unpunished,
nor will a liar escape.
6 Many seek favours from a ruler;
everyone is the friend of a person who gives gifts!

Goal:

I don’t know about you, but I have personally experienced the truth in all six of the verses in today’s passage. In fact, I find that the more time I spend with the Bible as a whole, the more I am understanding the truth written within its pages. I find that the more I realise the truth of the Bible in my daily life, the more enthusiastic I become about it. So therefore my goal for today is to pay close attention to what I read because I would be a fool to pretend that the truth was of no use to me or those around me.

Today’s readings:

1 Chronicles 11:1-12:18, Acts 28:1-31, Psalms 9:1-12, Proverbs 19:1-3

Leave a Reply

