How long must I struggle with anguish in my soul, with sorrow in my heart every day? (Psalm 13:2)

Thought:

I think one of the reasons that so many people reject faith is the issue of salvation. I think people find it really hard to accept salvation. This psalm is a sentiment everyone can relate to – at least for the first four verses. We have all secretly wished that God would step in and turn things around for us. But those who have yet to come to know a real faith in the Lord have trouble with verses 5-6. It is not surprising when you consider how few people society will let you trust. Policemen, doctors (and medicals professionals in general) and the banks used to be thought of as reliable. Now they have all been exposed as money grabbing, self centred organisations with nothing but profit maximisation at their hearts. People feel that there is no one they can trust and so also place God in amongst the rest of them.

Word:

Psalms 13:1-6 NLT

1 O Lord, how long will you forget me? Forever?
How long will you look the other way?
2 How long must I struggle with anguish in my soul,
with sorrow in my heart every day?
How long will my enemy have the upper hand?
3 Turn and answer me, O Lord my God!
Restore the sparkle to my eyes, or I will die.
4 Don’t let my enemies gloat, saying, “We have defeated him!”
Don’t let them rejoice at my downfall.
5 But I trust in your unfailing love.
I will rejoice because you have rescued me.
6 I will sing to the Lord
because he is good to me.

Goal:

If your soul struggles with anguish, or your heart is full of sorrow, or your eyes have lost their sparkle, you could start by singing. It really is amazing what you can see of God when you really let go and just sing. Singing soon turns in to rejoicing and from there comes the assurance that you can trust God after all. My goal today is to remember that when my route home to God is strewn with obstacles, He has sent his messenger in the person of the psalmist and he asks us to trust him and to rejoice and sing his praises. If in doubt on any subject in life, take care to pray into God’s unfailing love. You will be amazed what the Lord comes up with and gifts he gives you.

Today’s readings:

1 Chronicles 24:1-26:11, Romans 4:1-12, Psalms 13:1-6, Proverbs 19:15-16

Leave a Reply

