I am praying to you because I know you will answer. (Psalm 17:6)

Thought:

I have chosen these few verses from Psalm 17 because they hold within them the humble prayer of the honest believer. This is not the prayer of a great spiritual leader in front of thousands of his followers and neither is it a prayer modelled on the Lord’s prayer or any other theological construct. This is the heart felt prayer of an ordinary man who has experienced the power and truth if the living God. This is the prayer of any one who knows God and has a faith in him, but who is threatened on all sides by those who would ridicule his faith, and destroy his livelihood and reputation. The idea that this ordinary, vulnerable man asks the Lord to show his unfailing love in wonderful ways, is for me, the evidence that the psalmist has seen the reality of God in his life.

Word:

Psalms 17:6-12 NLT

6 I am praying to you because I know you will answer, O God.
Bend down and listen as I pray.
7 Show me your unfailing love in wonderful ways.
By your mighty power you rescue those who seek
refuge from their enemies.
8 Guard me as you would guard your own eyes.
Hide me in the shadow of your wings.
9 Protect me from wicked people who attack me,
from murderous enemies who surround me.
10 They are without pity.
Listen to their boasting!
11 They track me down and surround me,
watching for the chance to throw me to the ground.
12 They are like hungry lions, eager to tear me apart—
like young lions hiding in ambush.

Goal:

I have seen the reality of God too, and I can testify with confidence that the Lord Jesus answers our prayers in truly wonderful ways. Since I have come to know faith in Jesus, all my prayers have been answered. However, the ways in which they have been answered have been unexpected. Or you might say, wonderful. I can’t speak for anyone else but I have experienced wonderful answer to prayer akin to some of the things that I have read in the Bible. In fact, I would go as far as to say that I believe that a very great percentage of any man’s prayers have their answers already written down and waiting to be discovered within the Pages of the Holy Bible. My Goal is to help as many as I can to realise that the answers to most of your prayers can already be found waiting for you in among the chapter and verse of the Bible.

Today’s readings:

2 Chronicles 4:1-6:11, Romans 7:1-13, Psalms 17:1-15, Proverbs 19:22-23

Leave a Reply

