The Lord is my shepherd; I have all that I need. (Psalm 23:1)

Thought:

This is such a well known psalm, I am almost scared to comment on its message! But today was my first day back at work after a four month absence. I have to tell you, I was astonished to read this Psalm this morning in my NLT One Year Study Bible. I mean, of all the scriptures that could have coincided with this day? This well know Psalm speaks of God being all we need, and faith in God being the key to survival against all that the world will throw at us. As I move forward into this new chapter of my life, I know that the Lord will be with me. During the last, frightening months, he truly has let me rest in green pastures and has led me beside peaceful streams. Whenever I have been too tired, he really has renewed my strength. I can say with absolute conviction that my cup is overflowing with blessings I had not imagined. The Lord’s unfailing love has been shown to me in my time of greatest need.

Word:

Psalms 23:1-6 NLT

1 The Lord is my shepherd;
I have all that I need.
2 He lets me rest in green meadows;
he leads me beside peaceful streams.
3 He renews my strength.
He guides me along right paths, bringing honour to his name.
4 Even when I walk through the darkest valley,
I will not be afraid, for you are close beside me.
Your rod and your staff protect and comfort me.
5 You prepare a feast for me in the presence of my enemies.
You honour me by anointing my head with oil.
My cup overflows with blessings.
6 Surely your goodness and unfailing love will pursue me
all the days of my life,
and I will live in the house of the Lord forever.

Goal:

Verse 5 really speaks to me today. Throughout my time of greatest trial, God has not abandoned me, in fact, I have never felt so well provided for. At no time in the last few months, a time of real uncertainty for me, have I gone without. Always I have been provided for. Not only that, I have been constantly reminded, in house group, at bible study, and by the brotherhood of fellowship in general that God has…plans to prosper me and not to harm me, plans to give me hope and a future… (Jeremiah 29:11 NIV) Also, I have felt blessed in this project, and I feel the hand of my Lord on my shoulder as I keep on writing these devotionals. Surely his goodness will pursue me and perhaps I will serve in his house in future.

Today’s readings:

2 Chronicles 26:1-28:27, Romans 13:1-14, Psalms 23:1-6, Proverbs 20:11.

One thought on “The Lord is my shepherd; I have all that I need. (Psalm 23:1)

  1. Pingback: Encouragement and protection from heaven | daily meditation

Leave a Reply

