It’s not important who does the planting, or who does the watering. What’s important is that God makes the seed grow.(1 Corinthians 3:7)

Thought:

This passage has really given me cause to think. Paul asks the question: what does it matter who Paul and Apollos are? Then he says that they each did the work the Lord gave them. That’s all. God calls his people to him not Paul, nor Apollos, nor anyone else. Others may come along and nurture faith or provide inspiration when faithful hearts are tired and worn. But God grows his people. All anyone else can do is obey the Lord’s command to teach or bring on his new followers. I have been very aware that in this daily work that I do, all I can do is encourage others who already believe and perhaps inspire them through the example of writing a daily devotional.

Word:

1 Corinthians 3:5-11

After all, who is Apollos? Who is Paul? We are God’s servants through whom you believed the Good News. Each of us did the work the Lord gave us. I planted the seed in your heart and Apollos watered it, but it was God who made it grow. It’s not important who does the planting, or who does the watering. What’s important is that God makes the seed grow. The one who plants and the one who waters work together with the same purpose. And both will be rewarded for their own hard work. For we are both God’s workers. And you are God’s field. You are God’s building. Because of God’s grace to me, I have laid the foundation like an expert builder. Now others are building on it. But whoever is building on this foundation must be very careful. For no one can lay any foundation other than the one we already have—Jesus Christ.

Goal:

I have come to terms with the idea that I don’t really know how this project will end up. So I hope and pray that the Lord will let me feel his guiding hand as I go along, and that he will steer me in his desired direction. I feel strongly that I have been called to be one of God’s workers and I trust that he has put me to work in his field so that my effort might be productive. I only hope that I would be careful enough not to ruin the building we are all constructing together in Christ Jesus, and I hope that with the scriptures in one hand, I might never stray in my work and build on any other foundations than those laid by Jesus himself.

Today’s readings:

Ezra 4:24-6:22, 1 Corinthians 3:5-23, Psalm 29:1-11, Proverbs 20:26-27

Leave a Reply

