The Lord says, “I will guide you along the best pathway for your life. I will advise you and watch o ver you. (Psalm 32:8)

Thought:

For most of my life I just made it up as I went along. That seemed perfectly ok. In fact most of the people I know, still live like that. But even though I felt almost encouraged by society into thinking I was free to behave as I pleased, I always wished I could find a handbook for life. One that would guide me along the best pathway for my life. One I could trust to have advice for each and every circumstance in my life. I didn’t just want a generic handbook, I wanted one tailored specifically for my own life. I wanted a handbook so personal that it could have been written for me by my own father. You see the thing is, with a handbook, you get the best advice and opinion on a subject, and then you can choose the best way to go about what ever it is you needed advice for. Handbooks don’t force you to do anything and neither do they expect you to do what it says in them blindly, with no regard to the specific situation you find yourself in. Handbooks are there on your shelves for guidance and advice when you need them.

Word:

Psalm 32:8-11 NLT

8 The Lord says, “I will guide you along the best pathway for your life.
I will advise you and watch over you.
9 Do not be like a senseless horse or mule that
needs a bit and bridle to keep it under control.”
10 Many sorrows come to the wicked,
but unfailing love surrounds those who trust the Lord.
11 So rejoice in the Lord and be glad, all you who obey him!
Shout for joy, all you whose hearts are pure!

Goal:

I found a great handbook. I write my thoughts on what I read in it everyday. I hope others might realise how good my handbook is and want to read a copy of their own. The Bible is not a like a horse’s harness which curtails freedom and dictates its path, with or without its consent. The Bible contains the most sensible advice any father could ever give his child. In its pages are found a love which will never leave you or let you down and the answers to all the prayers you might ever find yourself praying. My goal is just to rejoice, be glad and obey the Lord who gave me his handbook. And to shout for joy about the Bible and the difference it has made in my life.

Today’s readings:

Nehemiah 3:15-5:13, 1 Corinthians 7:25-40, Psalms 32:1-11, Proverbs 21:5-7

Leave a Reply

