The righteous person faces many troubles, but the Lord comes to the rescue each time. (Psalm 34:19)

Thought:

As I think I have said before a few times over the last few months, so far, as a Christian, I can’t say that I have been aware of a significant absence of life’s troubles. In fact I would go as far as to say, in some respects, I am currently facing some of the worst troubles I ever have. So the first half of the verse I have quoted above seems to be true in my experience. Also, those who have been following TWG may have noticed that I have mentioned a few times, that when ever I have been in need, always and at exactly the right moment, the need has been met. I wish I had space here to be specific but I’m afraid, just for now, you’ll have to take my word for it! The point is, I can and will testify to the truth of the second half of the verse as well. You see, that is the difference faith makes it in a nutshell. We all face trouble, difficulty, disappointment, rejection, contempt, fear, illness—I could go on and on. But those with faith in the Lord have an eternal and solid reason for hope and something to trust and rely on. Those without faith have only the variable strength of their own optimism or the ever shifting wisdom of men to fall back on.

Word:

Psalms 34:15-20 NLT

15 The eyes of the Lord watch over those who do right;
his ears are open to their cries for help.
16 But the Lord turns his face against those who do evil;
he will erase their memory from the earth.
17 The Lord hears his people when they call to him for help.
He rescues them from all their troubles.
18 The Lord is close to the brokenhearted;
he rescues those whose spirits are crushed.
19 The righteous person faces many troubles,
but the Lord comes to the rescue each time.
20 For the Lord protects the bones of the righteous;
not one of them is broken!

Goal:

I could have chosen verse 18 to quote as my opening line. To be honest, it is a much more accurate expression of my recent experiences. However, it is too specific to a particular kind of trouble. God can save us from any situation. That is what being ‘Saved’ really means. It means coming to understand that the Lord has rescued you and will always rescue you from what ever trouble you are in. My goal today therefore is to remember again that Jesus is really my saviour. Not just because that’s what Christians say all the time, but because through experiencing the countless everyday rescues I prayed for in the name of Jesus, I can no longer deny it. Even I wanted to! I know I have been saved by Jesus because I have actually experienced answers to prayers lifted in his name.

Today’s readings:

Nehemiah 11:1-12:26, 1 Corinthians 10:14-33, Psalms 34:11-22, Proverbs 21:14-16

Leave a Reply

