Always work enthusiastically for the Lord, for you know that nothing you do for the Lord is ever useless. (1 Corinthians 15:58)

Thought:

The passage below is a fabulous vision of the moment when Jesus will come back in his glory and all those who are in him will be resurrected to live with him in the new heaven and the new earth. But, I don’t want to focus on how this will happen or what it will look like, I want to dwell on the sudden speed of events. Paul says it will happen in a moment, in the blink of an eye. Therefore, since we don’t know when these events will happen but that there will be very little warning, we should live in a constant state of readiness. Now I don’t know exactly what being ready means but I do know that the Lord has given us all the information we need in the Bible. So, as Paul advises, I can say that everything we do to honour God in our lives can be done enthusiastically, knowing that God sees our devotion and dedication to his work even if people don’t see it or value our effort to serve God.

Word:

1 Corinthians 15:51-58 NLT

But let me reveal to you a wonderful secret. We will not all die, but we will all be transformed! It will happen in a moment, in the blink of an eye, when the last trumpet is blown. For when the trumpet sounds, those who have died will be raised to live forever. And we who are living will also be transformed. For our dying bodies must be transformed into bodies that will never die; our mortal bodies must be transformed into immortal bodies. Then, when our dying bodies have been transformed into bodies that will never die, this Scripture will be fulfilled: “Death is swallowed up in victory. [Isa 25:8] O death, where is your victory? O death, where is your sting? ” [Hos 13:14] For sin is the sting that results in death, and the law gives sin its power. But thank God! He gives us victory over sin and death through our Lord Jesus Christ. So, my dear brothers and sisters, be strong and immovable. Always work enthusiastically for the Lord, for you know that nothing you do for the Lord is ever useless.

Goal:

As I said above, I am not absolutely sure that I will be counted among God’s children when he returns. So I will make it my goal to redouble my efforts to serve him with all my heart and soul and mind and body and with all the enthusiasm I can muster. I will do all I can to be ready at a moments notice in case the Lord’s trumpet should sound tomorrow.

Today’s readings:

Job 12:1-15:35, 1 Corinthians 15:29-58, Psalms 39:1-13, Proverbs 21:30-31

Leave a Reply

