And after my body has decayed, yet in my body I will see God! (Job 19:26)

Thought:

Yesterday, I talked about the idea that when the day of God’s judgement comes, there will be no warning and it could happen in the twinkling of an eye. But I avoided the other issue. That is the issue of the resurrection of the living and the dead. It is the issue of whether or not this is going to be a real physical event, or is it just a metaphorical and perhaps only spiritual resurrection? Well Paul is quite vague about the details but he is not vague about mortal bodies being transformed into immortal bodies. And neither is Job vague about it in today’s passage. Job was living with no tradition of Jesus. Yet he knew God would be his redeemer (paying of his debt of sin so that he might live). He was also confident that his redeemer would stand upon the earth at last – Just as Jesus did as a man among us. And then most astonishingly of all he knew that after he was dead and his body long decayed, he would be raised to life again in his own body and see God!

Word:

Job 19:25-29 NLT

“But as for me, I know that my Redeemer lives, and he will stand upon the earth at last. And after my body has decayed, yet in my body I will see God! I will see him for myself. Yes, I will see him with my own eyes. I am overwhelmed at the thought! “How dare you go on persecuting me, saying, ‘It’s his own fault’? You should fear punishment yourselves, for your attitude deserves punishment. Then you will know that there is indeed a judgment.”

Goal:

I have included two more verses than I originally thought I would. Job was guilty of nothing more than any other human being could have been. He was known as a God fearing man who had always tried to live according to God’s laws. And yet, at the point in his Life when he had all his good fortune taken away and was experiencing his greatest suffering, all his friends turned on him and assumed he must be guilty of some grave sins. They thought he must have brought it all upon himself. My goal today is to listen to Job’s warning that his friends judgmental attitudes themselves deserved punishment. We should know and take seriously that God will judge us all when he returns and there will be no second chances then. We can not know the full working of the God’s plans for us, so when others appear to fail or we might suspect that God is punishing them for their sins, we should be careful what we say to them and question our own flawed judgements. Job lived hundreds of years before Jesus and yet he knew he would come and redeem him and raise him to life in the presence of God…. Now that is a faith to aspire to!

Today’s readings:

Job 16:1-19:29, 1 Corinthians 16:1-24, Psalms 40:1-10, Proverbs 22:1

Leave a Reply

