All who hate me whisper about me, imagining the worst. (Psalm 41:7)

Thought:

One of the most surprising things that I have found, since I began regularly reading the bible, is how much of my own experience of life is recorded within its pages. All my life, since I was a small boy at boarding school, right through my student days and up until the present time, I have been aware that I have enemies who say nothing but evil about me. Friends that I trusted have betrayed my confidence, others have openly wished me ill. A few of those with whom I have been the most intimate have turned on me, let me down and bad mouthed me. I don’t say any of this in the hope of your sympathy, I say it because it tallies with what I read in the verses of Psalm 41 below. I am constantly amazed at how much of human life is written in the Bible. And I am always surprised by the truth of it.

Word:

Psalms 41:4-13 NLT

4 “O Lord,” I prayed, “have mercy on me.
Heal me, for I have sinned against you.”
5 But my enemies say nothing but evil about me.
“How soon will he die and be forgotten?” they ask.
6 They visit me as if they were my friends, but all the while they gather gossip,
and when they leave, they spread it everywhere.
7 All who hate me whisper about me, imagining the worst.
8 “He has some fatal disease,” they say.
“He will never get out of that bed!”
9 Even my best friend, the one I trusted completely,
the one who shared my food, has turned against me.
10 Lord, have mercy on me.
Make me well again, so I can pay them back!
11 I know you are pleased with me,
for you have not let my enemies triumph over me.
12 You have preserved my life because I am innocent;
you have brought me into your presence forever.
13 Praise the Lord, the God of Israel,
who lives from everlasting to everlasting.
Amen and amen!

Goal:

My goal is to take real comfort from the passages I can read in the scriptures which tell of my own experiences. Because for as much as the negative in this psalm is true of my own experience, so is the positive. The Lord has indeed preserved my life because I am innocent, and he truly has brought me into his presence forever. He has called me to him and he will never let me go, So I will praise him, despite the bad times and the false accusations. I will lift up my heart and voice to praise his name for all the days that I am alive. Amen and amen!

Today’s readings:

Job 23:1-27:23, 2 Corinthians 1:12-2:11, Psalms 41:1-13, Proverbs 22:5-6

Leave a Reply

