But of course you know all this! For you were born before it was all created, and you are so very experienced! (Job 38:21)

Thought:

I have been really surprised by the book of Job. It is one of those books that, to me at least, seems less well known, less quoted than some of the others. And yet it is a truly gripping read, full of human feelings and emotions that affect us all as much now as when it was written, thousands of years ago. Today’s passage is taken from chapter 38 in which is recorded the Lord’s challenge to Job. The words of today’s passage are the words of God himself, spoken directly to Job out of a whirlwind. I imagine this must be like a tornado. I imagine Job engulfed and surrounded by the storm, in the eye of the tornado. Imagine how frightening that would be. Imagine how small and vulnerable that would make you feel. After all that has been said and argued over thirty seven chapters of scripture, the Lord himself wades in and puts it all into perspective. I am humbled, as Job was, by the immensity of God. We mere humans can never fully understand even the smallest part of God, and yet so many of us are leaping about trying to argue that God is dead, or irrelevant, now we have made some tiny steps in our understanding of things through scientific research. They really do think they know it all because they are so experienced.

Word:

Job 38:16-24 NLT

“Have you explored the springs from which the seas come? Have you explored their depths? Do you know where the gates of death are located? Have you seen the gates of utter gloom? Do you realise the extent of the earth? Tell me about it if you know! “Where does light come from, and where does darkness go? Can you take each to its home? Do you know how to get there? But of course you know all this! For you were born before it was all created, and you are so very experienced! “Have you visited the storehouses of the snow or seen the storehouses of hail? (I have reserved them as weapons for the time of trouble, for the day of battle and war.) Where is the path to the source of light? Where is the home of the east wind?

Goal:

Personally, I find that I must answer ‘no’ or ‘I don’t know’, to every single question in today’s passage. Now I’m sure there will some out there who reckon they could have a go at answering one or two, but really, even that wouldn’t really amount to much when you read on around today’s short extract. My goal today is to try to hold on to a bit of perspective when it comes to God. I need to remember that he is so very much more than I could ever imagine with my tiny human mind. But I know I can trust him in all things, and I know that everything I have is his creation and given to me by his will. Likewise, everything I lose and all that causes me suffering is in his hands. The goal is to remember to trust God, come what may. With no exceptions.

Today’s readings:

Job 37:1-39:30, 2 Corinthians 4:13-5:10, Psalms 44:9-26, Proverbs 22:13

Leave a Reply

