In your majesty, ride out to victory, defending truth, humility, and justice. Go forth to perform awe-inspiring deeds! (Psalm 45:4)

Thought:

Having made it my habit to read something from the Bible everyday, I have often felt my heart stir as I have read the many beautiful words it holds within its ancient pages. I suppose I have been moved in a similar way the psalmist was as he began this wonderful and beautiful poem of worship and adoration to the King. Although written well before he was born and lived among us, the psalmist is singing the praises of Jesus Christ himself. Although I don’t write with the skill of a poet, my aim with these daily devotionals has been to show those who don’t often pick up the Bible, what power and beauty can be found inside. Like the Psalmist, I wish with all my heart that I could see Jesus ride out in majesty and conquer people’s hearts and we might all see him performing awe-inspiring deeds.

Word:

Psalms 45:1-7 NLT

1 Beautiful words stir my heart. I will recite a lovely poem about the king,
for my tongue is like the pen of a skilful poet.
2 You are the most handsome of all. Gracious words stream from your lips.
God himself has blessed you forever.
3 Put on your sword, O mighty warrior!
You are so glorious, so majestic!
4 In your majesty, ride out to victory, defending truth, humility, and justice.
Go forth to perform awe-inspiring deeds!
5 Your arrows are sharp, piercing your enemies’ hearts.
The nations fall beneath your feet.
6 Your throne, O God, endures forever and ever.
You rule with a sceptre of justice.
7 You love justice and hate evil. Therefore God, your God, has anointed you,
pouring out the oil of joy on you more than on anyone else.

Goal:

This Psalm emphasises the might of Jesus in overtly military terms. I find that this emphasis helps with the concept of our need to surrender to God entirely. In this sense we need to lower our human defences of scepticism and cynicism. We need to surrender to the God who loves justice and hates evil, who defends truth and humility. We need to allow ourselves to be subject to the king who endures forever and ever. Yes, the power of God can be overwhelming and terrifying. But so is the power of evil men. And so in the light of that truth, I have made it my goal to surrender to the God who loves justice and hates evil.

Today’s readings:

Job 40:1-42:17, 2 Corinthians 5:11-21, Psalms 45:1-17, Proverbs 22:14

Leave a Reply

