Make thankfulness your sacrifice to God (Psalm 50:14)

Thought:

Today’s passage from Psalm 50 really gets to the heart of what God wants from us. There is nothing we can give God that is not his already, except our thanks. It is as simple as that. The Lord created us and the world we live in and therefore he owns it all. All he asks in return is to have a relationship with us. I think it is interesting that the psalmist equates thankfulness with sacrifice. Sometimes, even as an enthusiastic believer, I find it difficult to be thankful because my life sometimes feels hard and unfair. When that is the case, thankfulness can feel like a sacrifice, it doesn’t come naturally and it feels like an effort. However, no matter how difficult things can feel in any given situation, there is always more to be grateful for than there is to complain about.

Word:

Psalms 50:9-15 NLT

9 But I do not need the bulls from your barns
or the goats from your pens.
10 For all the animals of the forest are mine,
and I own the cattle on a thousand hills.
11 I know every bird on the mountains,
and all the animals of the field are mine.
12 If I were hungry, I would not tell you,
for all the world is mine and everything in it.
13 Do I eat the meat of bulls?
Do I drink the blood of goats?
14 Make thankfulness your sacrifice to God,
and keep the vows you made to the Most High.
15 Then call on me when you are in trouble,
and I will rescue you, and you will give me glory.”

Goal:

My goal today is to try to keep a proper sense of perspective about how hard or unfair I think my life is. When I remember that God created everything and owns it all, I can not help but be grateful that he has given so much of his creation to me. I am thriving in his creation, having been given access to all I need to live a full life. The reality of my life is that occasionally, mostly directly due to my own poor decisions, I might suffer a lack in some area for a time. But, I find that with a little humility and good look at the bigger picture, nothing is ever so bad that I can find nothing to be thankful for. So if God wants me to make thankfulness my sacrifice to him, I don’t think that’s too much to ask.

Today’s readings:

Song of Songs 1:1-:16, 2 Corinthians 8:16-24, Psalms 50:1-23, Proverbs 22:22-23

Leave a Reply

