Have mercy on me, O God, have mercy! I look to you for protection. I will hide beneath the shadow of your wings until the danger passes by. (Psalm 57:1)

Thought:

Sometime last year I did some street work with a team from my church in which we wanted to use the date – Friday 13th – to talk to people about their beliefs about superstition and the like. And so I could not let a passage such as the today’s Psalm go without mentioning it on this Friday 13th. Now that I know about the mercy and protection of God, and no longer wonder or worry about the old wives tales and superstition I used to, I often find myself comforted by the knowledge that I am safe beneath God’s protective wings. And this knowledge has had some surprising results. I am truly confident in the Lord’s protection and so, these days, I find that I really do want to sing God’s praises.

Word:

Psalms 57:1-7 NLT

1 Have mercy on me, O God, have mercy! I look to you for protection.
I will hide beneath the shadow of your wings until the danger passes by.
2 I cry out to God Most High,
to God who will fulfil his purpose for me.
3 He will send help from heaven to rescue me, disgracing those who hound me.
Interlude
My God will send forth his unfailing love and faithfulness.
4 I am surrounded by fierce lions who greedily devour human prey—
whose teeth pierce like spears and arrows, and whose tongues cut like swords.
5 Be exalted, O God, above the highest heavens!
May your glory shine over all the earth.
6 My enemies have set a trap for me. I am weary from distress.
They have dug a deep pit in my path, but they themselves have fallen into it.
Interlude
7 My heart is confident in you, O God; my heart is confident.
No wonder I can sing your praises!

Goal:

My goal today is to concentrate on the three things the Psalmist is sure that God will do. He will fulfil his purpose for me, he will send help from heaven to rescue me and he will send forth his unfailing love and faithfulness. Imagine how secure you would feel if you truly felt all those promises we’re real. God would make you purposeful, he would send you help when you needed it, he would let you feel his love which he will never take away and every promise he made to you was guaranteed to be kept. What could you achieve with your life with that kind of security behind you backing you up?

Today’s readings:

Isaiah 12:1-14:32, 2 Corinthians 13:1-14, Psalms 57:1-11, Proverbs 23:9-11

Leave a Reply

