Let all that I am wait quietly before God, for my hope is in him. (Psalm 62:5)

Thought:

Victory, hope, honour and refuge. All this and more comes from God, says the psalmist, when he lets all that he is wait quietly before the Lord. This year I have experienced great moments of excitement and rapid spiritual growth along side great personal distress and inner turmoil. In fact, all through my life I have suffered from a general lack of stability in my home life. However, since I have come to know God my soul has begun to know a quietness it never knew before and I have begun to hope that I might at last have found a true refuge, a place where I can experience a real sense of emotional stability. I have been shaken many times in my life, but now I dare to hope that in the fortress of God’s salvation, I will not be shaken any more.

Word:

Psalms 62:1-8 NLT

1 I wait quietly before God,
for my victory comes from him.
2 He alone is my rock and my salvation,
my fortress where I will never be shaken.
3 So many enemies against one man— all of them trying to kill me.
To them I’m just a broken-down wall or a tottering fence.
4 They plan to topple me from my high position.
They delight in telling lies about me. They praise me to my face
but curse me in their hearts. Interlude
5 Let all that I am wait quietly before God,
for my hope is in him.
6 He alone is my rock and my salvation,
my fortress where I will not be shaken.
7 My victory and honour come from God alone.
He is my refuge, a rock where no enemy can reach me.
8 O my people, trust in him at all times.
Pour out your heart to him, for God is our refuge. Interlude

Goal:

My goal is to pour out my heart to God and know that I can trust him to love me, whatever I share with him. I will claim sanctuary in the refuge of his fortress where no enemy can reach me and from where I will be able to withstand any attack from those who wish me and my plans dead. But most of all, my goal is to learn to be patient and calm before the Lord, I want to learn to let my whole being wait quietly before God and to put all my hope in him.

Today’s readings:

Isaiah 28:14-30:11, Galatians 3:23-4:31, Psalms 62:1-12, Proverbs 23:19-21

Leave a Reply

