A little extra sleep, a little more slumber, a little folding of the hands to rest— then poverty wil l pounce on you… (Proverbs 24:33-34)

Thought:

If we are not careful, it can become a bit of a habit to assume we can always rely on the providence of the Lord for everything. But clearly, we are required to give all we can of our lives to God in return for his mercy and generous provision for all our needs. Jesus was asked by a man who wanted to know what he must do to inherit the eternal life that Jesus was teaching about. Jesus asked him what he understood from the written law of Moses, the man answered and Jesus agreed with him. The man answered, ” ‘You should love the Lord your God with all your heart, all your soul, all your strength, and all your mind’. And, ‘Love your neighbour as yourself.'” (Luke 10:27). A little extra sleep, a lie in and a longer break than usual may well seem reasonable at the time, but if they become the norm, you are no longer giving of your best. Doesn’t the Lord deserve your absolute best? Should we really expect God to give us everything we desire before we give him everything he desires from us? What about giving him our love and our respect and our absolute trust. What about giving him all of our strength, all of our industry, our whole energy and attention through every waking hour.

Word:

Proverbs 24:30-34 NLT

30 I walked by the field of a lazy person,
the vineyard of one with no common sense.
31 I saw that it was overgrown with nettles.
It was covered with weeds, and its walls were broken down.
32 Then, as I looked and thought about it,
I learned this lesson:
33 A little extra sleep, a little more slumber,
a little folding of the hands to rest—
34 then poverty will pounce on you like a bandit;
scarcity will attack you like an armed robber.

Goal:

Clearly I hope that no one would walk past me and my home and find cause to call me lazy. But they could because I am not perfect. There are still so many areas of my life in which I could make room for improvement. My goal is to make as much effort as possible, to dedicate my life in all it’s richness, to the service and praise of God. My hope is that this practical worship, might register, at least to some degree, in the hearts of those good people I know and love, and wish I could claim for Jesus, whether they know it or not.

Today’s readings:

Jeremiah 12:1-14:10, 1 Thessalonians 1:1-2:8, Psalms 79:1-13, Proverbs 24:30-34

Leave a Reply

