I urge you, first of all, to pray for all people. (1Timothy 2:1)

Thought:

I have long been amazed by how often I find myself reading just the right passages of scripture at the times when they are most appropriate. Only a few weeks ago I read a book that had been given to me months earlier in which the very great importance of prayer was made clear to me. In particular, the kind of prayer that Paul is urging Timothy to practice in his ministry. So, in response I invited some of my friends to join me in prayer one evening. Last Monday we did it again and it was good. I sincerely believe that we must cry out to the Lord in prayer if we want to see him revealed powerfully to those who don’t yet know him. I am further inspired, in addition to Paul’s words to Timothy, by words from both James and John —The earnest prayer of a righteous person has great power and produces wonderful results.(James 5:16) – You can ask for anything in my name, and I will do it, so that the Son can bring glory to the Father. (John 14:13)

Word:

1 Timothy 2:1-7 NLT

I urge you, first of all, to pray for all people. Ask God to help them; intercede on their behalf, and give thanks for them. Pray this way for kings and all who are in authority so that we can live peaceful and quiet lives marked by godliness and dignity. This is good and pleases God our Saviour, who wants everyone to be saved and to understand the truth. For there is only one God and one Mediator who can reconcile God and humanity—the man Christ Jesus. He gave his life to purchase freedom for everyone. This is the message God gave to the world at just the right time. And I have been chosen as a preacher and apostle to teach the Gentiles this message about faith and truth. I’m not exaggerating—just telling the truth.

Goal:

My hope and my prayer is that my church along with the others in our city, would grow and reach out through bold new outreach ministries. My goal therefore, is to pray for just that. I am hoping to continue with a regular prayer meeting so we can focus on praying for all the people who are yet to come to faith. I also think it is of great importance for churches to come together regularly to pray specifically for their church leadership and their ministries. However, i am also struck that Paul feels the need to remind Timothy, the young minister, that he need not exaggerate as he preaches, just keep it simple and tell the truth. But, if we are ever going to see revival in our time, then it seems clear to me that we must begin with prayer first of all.

Today’s readings:

Jeremiah 30:1-31:26, 1 Timothy 2:1-15, Psalms 87:1-7, Proverbs 25:18-19

Leave a Reply

