I will put my instructions deep within them, and I will write them on their hearts. (Jeremiah 31:33)

Thought:

Since it has became know among my friends and colleagues that I am a new Christian, a surprising number of them have asked me about how I can say I know God. Many of them have implied that they would like to be confident in their knowledge of this thing they believe in, but they have no means of talking about it or sharing it. They are entirely isolated in their unexplored and un-namable faith in something bigger than themselves. A lot of them seem to be reluctant to use the words used in the Bible that describe the Lord and faith in him. It seems to me, that for many people in society today, use of biblical language is almost a forbidden heresy that flies in the face of the modern god of science and reason. It seems to me that they already know the Lord, but they don’t know how to speak about him or call on him. Today’s passage acknowledges this awareness of God and it contains the whole essence of the Good News, which is the forgiveness of sins, and an intimate new closeness to God.

Word:

Jeremiah 31:31-34 NLT

“The day is coming,” says the Lord, “when I will make a new covenant with the people of Israel and Judah. This covenant will not be like the one I made with their ancestors when I took them by the hand and brought them out of the land of Egypt. They broke that covenant, though I loved them as a husband loves his wife,” says the Lord. “But this is the new covenant I will make with the people of Israel on that day,” says the Lord. “I will put my instructions deep within them, and I will write them on their hearts. I will be their God, and they will be my people. And they will not need to teach their neighbours, nor will they need to teach their relatives, saying, ‘You should know the Lord.’ For everyone, from the least to the greatest, will know me already,” says the Lord. “And I will forgive their wickedness, and I will never again remember their sins.”

Goal:

When I first began this project, I wanted to see if I could somehow help to open up the bible for those who had perhaps given up hope of ever really getting to grips with it. I believe there are many people who would gladly embrace a new faith in the Lord if only they could both understand and learn God’s instructions for how we can life a beautiful, rich and abundant life. Some of them have heard the bible read all through their childhoods but never read it for themselves. Most people I have spoken to say that the traditionally acceptable English translations remain complicated and difficult to understand and so the wonderful message within is simply lost. By using the New Living Translation, I hope and pray that those who are still searching might finally realise what the Lord has done for us, and that he is already waiting for us inside each of our hearts.

Today’s readings:

Jeremiah 31:27-32:44, 1 Timothy 3:1-16, Psalms 88:1-18, Proverbs 25:20-22

Leave a Reply

